Messages in this topic - RSS

Home ? Tech Help ? Today's Download

pages: 1 2 3 | the topic is closed
04/08/2015 16:08:26

MrDrWho13Muvizu mogulExperimental user
MrDrWho13
Posts: 2221
mcmillan-ra wrote:
Given your sets are quite err... heavy (as an understatement) you should be able to get a bit of a speed boost from this. Generally, put all your background stuff into layers - and then hide them when working with foreground characters. Should remove lag and such like. You don't just have to use them for rendering out...

I'll have to try this!
permalink
04/08/2015 16:09:18

MrDrWho13Muvizu mogulExperimental user
MrDrWho13
Posts: 2221
blickfang wrote:
s this real? I am at work and can not verify.

Yep, it's real - the new limit is 9.
permalink
04/08/2015 16:28:18

Jure
Jure
Posts: 7
I have put a support ticket. The install path is as usual C... So I'm the only one who can't open the newest version??

mcmillan-ra wrote:
Jure wrote:
Hi guys, I just downloaded a new version of Muvizu but now I can't open any file. I get this message: ''fatal error! address + 0x803c80bb (filename not found) (in C:/Muvizu Play/Binaries64/Muvizu.dll)'' and similar. What should I do? Thanks!
Hello,

If you haven't already - put a support ticket in. The thing that catches my attention here is the install path, have you not installed it to the root of C? Was that deliberate? Just wondering if that's related to the problem...
permalink
04/08/2015 16:34:26

wdeprospo
wdeprospo
Posts: 86
What's to say, NICE, Thanks
permalink
04/08/2015 16:43:29

ziggy72Muvizu mogulExperimental user
ziggy72
Posts: 1988
mcmillan-ra wrote:
ziggy72 wrote:
SAY WHAAAAAT?!! We've only been waiting for more than 4 cameras since... forever. Muvizu HQ, this is bigger news than the render layers - please start issuing change logs!!
edited by ziggy72 on 04/08/2015
You say that now, but...

Given your sets are quite err... heavy (as an understatement) you should be able to get a bit of a speed boost from this. Generally, put all your background stuff into layers - and then hide them when working with foreground characters. Should remove lag and such like. You don't just have to use them for rendering out...

Also, from a development point of view upping the number of cameras was a simple change - the render layers - quite a bit harder to do.


I know what you mean Big Grin I need 30 or 40 consistent characters available, but not all for each shot, so... turn them off until needed. And the extra cars, props, etc. I guess my Lakeside set kinda forced this (sorry), but it's a neat solution - you can still fill up the skydome with hundreds of imported objects, but only have them activated when in shot. Still think having more than 4 cameras is the real game changer though - anyone remember that vid Dreeko made with the dark, rainy street? Looked awesome because he used the cameras to project moving stuff on backdrops, but almost straight away he hit the camera limit...

And what's the deal with the TGA depth pass? I'm sure it's a nice feature, but without any kind of change log <cough> it's kinda hard to work out why it does what it does, or what we'd use it for. It is kinda freaky though

Also, now that we can have lots of cameras, would it be possible to either make them a bit transparent by default, or be able to toggle their visibility on the set the same way we do for characters? They get in the way, y'see, but I don't want to always have all of them hidden.
permalink
04/08/2015 16:46:11

blickfang
blickfang
Posts: 106
MrDrWho13 wrote:
blickfang wrote:
s this real? I am at work and can not verify.

Yep, it's real - the new limit is 9.



Holy Wowza!

I could see myself going crazy with camera cuts. I'll have to contain myself!!!!!
permalink
04/08/2015 16:52:21

claireqMuvizu staff
claireq
Posts: 95
Release notes are publicly available on our wiki page and can be found here. http://muvizu.com/Wiki/wiki/50/muvizuplay-release-history
Sorry forgot to update it for the last release but it is all up-to-date now
permalink
04/08/2015 16:53:01

MrDrWho13Muvizu mogulExperimental user
MrDrWho13
Posts: 2221
claireq wrote:
Release notes are publicly available on our wiki page and can be found here. http://muvizu.com/Wiki/wiki/50/muvizuplay-release-history
Sorry forgot to update it for the last release but it is all up-to-date now

Now you tell us!
permalink
04/08/2015 16:58:53

MrDrWho13Muvizu mogulExperimental user
MrDrWho13
Posts: 2221
A related feature request - the ability to change the layer the object's in, in its edit menu.
It's difficult to work with when you have hundreds of trees and only want to select one or two.
edited by MrDrWho13 on 04/08/2015
permalink
04/08/2015 16:59:36

claireqMuvizu staff
claireq
Posts: 95
ziggy72 wrote:

And what's the deal with the TGA depth pass? I'm sure it's a nice feature, but without any kind of change log <cough> it's kinda hard to work out why it does what it does, or what we'd use it for. It is kinda freaky though



TGA depth pass is for anyone who would like to be fancy and do the depth of field in a post processing package such as after effects or nuke, although Muvizu cameras do a decent job of it anyway Big Grin
edited by claireq on 04/08/2015
permalink
04/08/2015 17:07:48

mcmillan-raExperimental userMuvizu staff
mcmillan-ra
Posts: 164
Jure wrote:
I have put a support ticket. The install path is as usual C... So I'm the only one who can't open the newest version??

I think there have been a couple of issues come in... My thought was that the install path is (by default) C:\Program files\Muvizu Play\... rather than C:\Muvizu Play\ I was just wondering if the update had gone a bit askew with that. That can be dealt with through the ticket though...
permalink
04/08/2015 17:10:24

mcmillan-raExperimental userMuvizu staff
mcmillan-ra
Posts: 164
MrDrWho13 wrote:
A related feature request - the ability to change the layer the object's in, in its edit menu.
It's difficult to work with when you have hundreds of trees and only want to select one or two.
edited by MrDrWho13 on 04/08/2015
If you bring up its properties, it's in there. Also, if you group select your items - and bring up the edit window, you should be able to assign all of the selected ones from there too...
permalink
04/08/2015 17:28:22

ziggy72Muvizu mogulExperimental user
ziggy72
Posts: 1988
claireq wrote:
ziggy72 wrote:

And what's the deal with the TGA depth pass? I'm sure it's a nice feature, but without any kind of change log <cough> it's kinda hard to work out why it does what it does, or what we'd use it for. It is kinda freaky though



TGA depth pass is for anyone who would like to be fancy and do the depth of field in a post processing package such as after effects or nuke, although Muvizu cameras do a decent job of it anyway Big Grin
edited by claireq on 04/08/2015


Ah, now it makes sense! Thanks

Any idea why my set (saved in 1.4) is being rendered so dark in 1.5? The cameras don't match the output at all.

I turned off AO (first suspect) and it made no difference - it doesn't do this when you create a new set, just if you load an existing one (I've tried a few, no difference).

PS I now know I'm a veteran of Muvizu since 0.12b thanks to the wiki - and it was crap back then compared to now, you lucky things!
edited by ziggy72 on 04/08/2015
permalink
04/08/2015 17:31:40

MrDrWho13Muvizu mogulExperimental user
MrDrWho13
Posts: 2221
ziggy72 wrote:
PS I now know I'm a veteran of Muvizu since 0.12b thanks to the wiki - and it was crap back then compared to now, you lucky things!

Same here!
"30th August 2010"
Was it really that long ago?!
edited by MrDrWho13 on 04/08/2015
permalink
04/08/2015 19:03:50

DreekoMuvizu mogulExperimental user
Dreeko
Posts: 1258
MrDrWho13 wrote:
ziggy72 wrote:
PS I now know I'm a veteran of Muvizu since 0.12b thanks to the wiki - and it was crap back then compared to now, you lucky things!

Same here!
"30th August 2010"
Was it really that long ago?!
edited by MrDrWho13 on 04/08/2015



I registered and downloaded the day after this was on the telly http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/programmes/click_online/8885276.stm

Watch it from 2mins 15 secs

Muvizu looks very retro in the clip!

D
permalink
04/08/2015 21:10:46

fazz68
fazz68
(Account inactive)
Posts: 767
ok this may seem like a stupid question but where are these mythical layers to be found? im either going blind or missing something coz i cant find it anywhere....
permalink
04/08/2015 21:11:47

MrDrWho13Muvizu mogulExperimental user
MrDrWho13
Posts: 2221
View-->show layers window
permalink
04/08/2015 21:23:21

fazz68
fazz68
(Account inactive)
Posts: 767
MrDrWho13 wrote:
View-->show layers window


ok.

found it but had to switch to directx 11. so i take it layers dont work in directx 9 (which i have to use coz directx 11 crashes muvizu for me when i go to make a video)

oh well wont be using that function then lol

still the extra cameras are cool.
edited by fazz68 on 04/08/2015
permalink
04/08/2015 22:10:20

urbanlamb
urbanlamb
(Account inactive)
Posts: 1796
hurry up get your new computer before you are locked out of the internet :P

yeah any enhancements are probably gonna be dx11+
permalink
04/08/2015 23:19:39

fazz68
fazz68
(Account inactive)
Posts: 767
urbanlamb wrote:
hurry up get your new computer before you are locked out of the internet :P

yeah any enhancements are probably gonna be dx11+


soon mate i'll just plod along with the old craptop till then. even if i pulled the old beast out of storage it wouldnt be any better thats even more ancient Big Grin
permalink
pages: 1 2 3 | the topic is closed

Home ? Tech Help ? Today's Download