Messages in this topic - RSS

Home ? Feedback ? Interface & Timeline

pages: 1 2 3 4 | the topic is closed
14/07/2011 09:54:27

simonhefferMuvizu mogulExperimental user
simonheffer
Posts: 225
Wizaerd wrote:
Emily wrote:
Just out of interest, would you prefer a short, fast swooping camera movement, or no movement at all?


When I right click on a character to view and/or edit their properties (objects too), I expect to see the character or object I am wishing to affect. I don't mind the swooping, although it could be mucho faster, but if you want to just cut to their position I am fine with that as well. I would hate to blindly change properties without seeing the effect of those changes.


As I work with Visual Studio/Eclipse most days one feature that I find useful is a properties window that's there permanently, which changes as I select different objects. It's always in the same place and types of properties are grouped together in the same order. It also has a dropdown to allow me to select an object by name without having to find it and select it. This latter would require some internal default name generation (wall-1,wall-2) as I don't name every object in Muvizu.

I think generally as more features become available docked windows may become increasingly necessary in order to tidy away the clutter from scene view (optionally floating, of course).

I guess this take it away from the fun,"let's get to it" presentation but should allow faster working at the end of the day.
permalink
14/07/2011 14:02:16

ukBertyMuvizu mogulExperimental user
ukBerty
Posts: 976
simonheffer wrote:


As I work with Visual Studio/Eclipse most days one feature that I find useful is a properties window that's there permanently, which changes as I select different objects. It's always in the same place and types of properties are grouped together in the same order. It also has a dropdown to allow me to select an object by name without having to find it and select it. This latter would require some internal default name generation (wall-1,wall-2) as I don't name every object in Muvizu.

I think generally as more features become available docked windows may become increasingly necessary in order to tidy away the clutter from scene view (optionally floating, of course).

I guess this take it away from the fun,"let's get to it" presentation but should allow faster working at the end of the day.



Yes yes yes - who else has changed the size of a backdrop that they have highlighted, but have the properties of another- bang - the whole scene is torn apart and you have to reload from a saved position.
permalink
14/07/2011 20:43:21

ziggy72Muvizu mogulExperimental user
ziggy72
Posts: 1988
Yes, Yes, Yes also! To both simonheffer's suggestion and to ukBerty's experience of selecting the wrong thing without being able to see what you've selected. I think a dialog box for the options would be great, but right now could we not just have a little text line added to the basic interface (overlaid?) with the name of the item you've got currently selected? Hang on, where's Neil at... poke
permalink
15/07/2011 01:21:44

NeilExperimental userMuvizu staff
Neil
Posts: 396
ziggy72 wrote:
Hang on, where's Neil at... poke


http://maps.google.co.uk/maps/place?q=Marazion&hl=en&gl=uk

I'll be back on Monday.
edited by Neil on 15/07/2011
permalink
20/07/2011 12:19:58

simonhefferMuvizu mogulExperimental user
simonheffer
Posts: 225
Can we move the start position back in time? I sometimes find that I need to add stuff at the beginning of the movie - a case in point is adding a new character who needs to be lying down,we only have the falling into grave animation for that so I need him to start falling before the current start point.
permalink
20/07/2011 12:43:29

DanimalMuvizu mogulExperimental user
Danimal
Posts: 477
I think that's more a matter of planning out the scene. You should always leave two seconds before you actually start animating anything. That gives you just that cushion you need.
permalink
20/07/2011 14:51:46

freakmoomin
freakmoomin
Posts: 272
simonheffer wrote:
Can we move the start position back in time? I sometimes find that I need to add stuff at the beginning of the movie - a case in point is adding a new character who needs to be lying down,we only have the falling into grave animation for that so I need him to start falling before the current start point.


This is something i would like to see fixed one day (although planning ure scene well and leaving a few secs at start will help with all of this of course).

Just to add. There is a new 'Pose' animation category with several lying down static poses to play with.
permalink
pages: 1 2 3 4 | the topic is closed

Home ? Feedback ? Interface & Timeline