Messages in this topic - RSS

Home ? Feedback ? Interface & Timeline

pages: 1 2 3 4 | the topic is closed
13/06/2011 11:31:46

Marco_D
Marco_D
Posts: 582
Now I know why the forums have been quiet!

Looking forward to it guys.

Cheers,
Marco
permalink
16/06/2011 21:08:37

ziggy72Muvizu mogulExperimental user
ziggy72
Posts: 1988
Yes, it's that damn Zig Phone again with yet another feature removal request - when you right click on a character, can we please have the option to just go straight to their properties window without the long swoopy camera move? Takes too long, and I get impatient when I'm building stuff.

Also, while I'm here, I've noticed that the post boxes have aquired a horizontal scroll bar which only scrolls one character either way, which in turn hides the first or last character of every sentence you type - but only in IE9. When I put IE9 to Compatibility mode, the scroll bar (and the problem) dissapears. Odd one.
permalink
17/06/2011 06:01:13

ukBertyMuvizu mogulExperimental user
ukBerty
Posts: 976
ziggy72 wrote:
when you right click on a character, can we please have the option to just go straight to their properties window without the long swoopy camera move? Takes too long, and I get impatient when I'm building stuff.



Can I second that - and cameras as well - and everything. As Ziggy says, it looks nice but is a waste of time.

Berty
permalink
17/06/2011 11:21:46

freakmoomin
freakmoomin
Posts: 272
ukBerty wrote:
ziggy72 wrote:
when you right click on a character, can we please have the option to just go straight to their properties window without the long swoopy camera move? Takes too long, and I get impatient when I'm building stuff.



Can I second that - and cameras as well - and everything. As Ziggy says, it looks nice but is a waste of time.

Berty



Ill 3rd that
permalink
17/06/2011 11:29:29

Emily
Emily
(Account inactive)
Posts: 346
Just out of interest, would you prefer a short, fast swooping camera movement, or no movement at all?
permalink
17/06/2011 12:43:02

DanimalMuvizu mogulExperimental user
Danimal
Posts: 477
I'll cast my vote for no movement at all, especially on the cameras. Very often I'll set the main perspective to see certain elements in the scene, go to make a camera movement and BAM, there I am locked behind the camera. This happens even more when I inadvertantly hit "camera movement" instead of "character movement." I think the view should stay where it is and lock to the camera only if you choose it to.
permalink
17/06/2011 14:14:25

ukBertyMuvizu mogulExperimental user
ukBerty
Posts: 976
Danimal wrote:
This happens even more when I inadvertantly hit "camera movement" instead of "character movement." I think the view should stay where it is and lock to the camera only if you choose it to.

Danimal's correct - I'm forever doing this as well.


I'm in the no movement camp - and also only lock behind camera only when asked.
permalink
17/06/2011 20:03:30

ziggy72Muvizu mogulExperimental user
ziggy72
Posts: 1988
Yup, I also concur. It's nice to have the swoopy stuff, but an Off switch would be very helpful. I suppose you could have a slider to control the speed of swoops, from where it is now, down to faster, then off.

I think what we all want here is the option for the view to stay where it is while we work, regardless of what else we may be doing. It's functional, boring, but definitely more productive - but the kids should be able to keep their swoops if they like
permalink
11/07/2011 11:12:11

ziggy72Muvizu mogulExperimental user
ziggy72
Posts: 1988
Okay, slightly odd request I guess, but could we have the option to clear all the loaded textures in the Object Properties window (when you're Animating the Image).


The reason I ask is that I've created a set, and I'm reusing it, and it contains a movie/image slideshow. To clear the slideshow, I have to select a Texture, set to None, close the Palette window, and do it again...8 more times! And I have to reuse the set 5 times, so... that's a lot of clicking. A 'Clear All Textures' button would be appreciated


Also, while I'm here, I've discovered that using an imported movie (as an Animated Image Texture) is a bit hit-and-miss in Muvizu - the movie doesn't always start at the start, if you see what I mean. When you Direct the cuts between AVIs, you'll get a flash of other bits of that AVI before it settles down and starts playing properly. And it records like that, so it's not just a glitch while previewing. Moving the start of the next cut actually alters where/how much of the flashing you get in the previous cut Confused


I've resorted to using split screen so that I can edit out the flashes, so it's not so bad really.

PS it's actually sunny in Glasgow right now. The sun, I remember that...big glowy thing, right?
permalink
12/07/2011 21:41:05

simonhefferMuvizu mogulExperimental user
simonheffer
Posts: 225
So loving the new UI and the cue points. Obviously there's a request (or two) coming...

...
can we label the cue points?
Can we play between two cue points? (useful for sound cues when the dialogue is snappy)
I'd like some minimal sound editing. I know it can be done elsewhere and the oft asked for multiple channels would help but I still find the action has to follow the sound, which means the timing has to be spot on when recorded. So I'd like the options to:
a) insert some silence
b) insert a new sound (eg a new line from the script).
c) paint the tracks for each character (eg fred speaks from here to here) - I guess one of those wavy lines would be handy there too. I believe I made this suggestion way back before the timeline came along and it still sounds good to me (sounds good - geddit?). We sort of have it but maybe inserting a talk event which we can then stretch would do it.
d) a non-timeline thing here would be a toggle rather than talk+shush would be easier than watching the timeline for the next cuepoint and moving the mouse at the same time. Hitting talk twice gives strange results!
e) on the same point when directing the current point marker(?) is quite close to the right hand-side which doesn't give much lead into the next cuepoint.

Thanks for listening,
Si
permalink
13/07/2011 10:09:59

Luscan
Luscan
Posts: 176
Hi Si,

A lot of really good feedback here, thank you.

I'd just like to make a quick point that you can move the time-bar (the line with the pink triangle on the timeline) between cue points by clicking on the skip backwards and forwards buttons on the timeline. The skip buttons are the ones with the single triangle and the lines.

Thanks for the feedback!
permalink
13/07/2011 10:18:42

DreekoMuvizu mogulExperimental user
Dreeko
Posts: 1258
Looping playback of sections on the timeline would be nice

On the subject of looping, it would be nice to be able to select a section of character actions from the timeline and be able to loop the sequence continuously for as long as we wish. This would be made even better if we could save these sequences as favourites and be able to apply them to different characters.

Thoughts? ( other than bugger off dreeko we"re busy enough!lol!)

Cheers
D
edited by Dreeko on 13/07/2011
permalink
13/07/2011 10:43:55

Luscan
Luscan
Posts: 176
Look, do you want this dragon or not?
permalink
13/07/2011 10:49:55

pyrrho
pyrrho
Posts: 123
Dreeko wrote:
Thoughts? ( other than bugger off dreeko we"re busy enough!lol!)


No, I think that you've summed it up pretty accurately there :-)
permalink
13/07/2011 11:12:14

simonhefferMuvizu mogulExperimental user
simonheffer
Posts: 225
Luscan wrote:
Hi Si,

A lot of really good feedback here, thank you.

I'd just like to make a quick point that you can move the time-bar (the line with the pink triangle on the time-line) between cue points by clicking on the skip backwards and forwards buttons on the time-line. The skip buttons are the ones with the single triangle and the lines.

Thanks for the feedback!


Yes, I'm doing that and it works OK but only helps with, say, making sure the speech starts at the right point, if it stopped at the next cue point I'd know the speech finished in time too. Maybe a 'play until next cue-point' button which looks like the slow play button on your video player e.g. II>

More requests whilst I'm here, these may be there but I haven't found them yet.
Play in full screen. (my (poor old) eyes still can't make out everything in the camera window, some stuff isn't apparent until you make the video)
Play without timeline.(it is a bit big after all and I like to view the action from different angles so I can see if there's another camera view that's useful). Or maybe make the time-line a real window so it can sit outside the main Muvizu window (which then applies to other windows heh-heh!)
edited by simonheffer on 13/07/2011
permalink
13/07/2011 12:19:00

DreekoMuvizu mogulExperimental user
Dreeko
Posts: 1258
pyrrho wrote:
Dreeko wrote:
Thoughts? ( other than bugger off dreeko we"re busy enough!lol!)


No, I think that you've summed it up pretty accurately there :-)


I read your reply but in my head it is somehow translated into
"Thanks Dreeko. Muvizu"s Developement is driven by user feedback. We welcome and value your input. Keep it coming"

No probs, glad to be of help!

Cheers
D
permalink
13/07/2011 14:16:31

pyrrho
pyrrho
Posts: 123
Dreeko wrote:
pyrrho wrote:
Dreeko wrote:
Thoughts? ( other than bugger off dreeko we"re busy enough!lol!)


No, I think that you've summed it up pretty accurately there :-)


I read your reply but in my head it is somehow translated into
"Thanks Dreeko. Muvizu"s Developement is driven by user feedback. We welcome and value your input. Keep it coming"

No probs, glad to be of help!

Cheers
D


This is where I should point out that, as Muvizu Ambassador, your next diplomatic posting is likely to be to Libya.

Cool
permalink
13/07/2011 14:53:40

DreekoMuvizu mogulExperimental user
Dreeko
Posts: 1258
Doesn't Muvizu already have geospacial (muvizu"s arms division) watching that part of the world?

Wouldn't want to be in the way!
permalink
13/07/2011 16:43:47

Wizaerd
Wizaerd
Posts: 122
Emily wrote:
Just out of interest, would you prefer a short, fast swooping camera movement, or no movement at all?


When I right click on a character to view and/or edit their properties (objects too), I expect to see the character or object I am wishing to affect. I don't mind the swooping, although it could be mucho faster, but if you want to just cut to their position I am fine with that as well. I would hate to blindly change properties without seeing the effect of those changes.
permalink
13/07/2011 19:43:26

ziggy72Muvizu mogulExperimental user
ziggy72
Posts: 1988
I'd like to second simonheffer's request for user text labels on the cue points - handy, simple and useful. Good one. And yes, some control over the sound tracks would be good - just being able to cut the sound file, and drag the two halves apart to create pauses would be incredibly helpful.
permalink
pages: 1 2 3 4 | the topic is closed

Home ? Feedback ? Interface & Timeline