Messages in this topic - RSS

Home ? How Do I ...? ? MUvizu not importing SketchUP model...

pages: 1 2 | Please log in or register, then complete your details to create a post.
20/12/2015 21:46:39

MrDrWho13Muvizu mogulExperimental user
MrDrWho13
Posts: 2221
urbanlamb wrote:
his error is specific to sketchup not all files require a toto.bmp and he is saying that this is what his error was at least that was what he started with.

Oops, thanks for the info!
permalink
20/12/2015 22:01:10

urbanlamb
urbanlamb
(Account inactive)
Posts: 1796
haha your welcome. I think this is his sketchup, but if he can get a functioning file from the freebies all he needs to is stuff his model and any files generated into the same folder as the working model and it should work.. if this is his only error, but we shall see.

Sometimes the best way to learn is to looks at stuff you know works and we know fazz's sketchup models work and are set up correctly so he can reverse engineer it so figure what is going on.
permalink
21/12/2015 00:22:41

PatMarrNCMuvizu mogul
PatMarrNC
Posts: 1742
I don't know if Roland hand-typed the example of his error message, or if he cut and pasted it... but if he cut and pasted it, the "file not found" error could be coming from a typo in his ASE file where he edited the texture file name.

His example error message said "toto. bpm" instead of "toto.bmp"
permalink
21/12/2015 05:38:37

ukBertyMuvizu mogulExperimental user
ukBerty
Posts: 976
Roland,

Instead of using a folder on your desktop create a folder in the root of your C:\ drive called C:\UT3 - this is somehow a special location for default ASE files. Stick all your stuff in there and see if it works.

I have all my objects for import on my S:\ drive, but I still have a C:\UT3 directory with a lone TOTO.BMP file in it to make ASE files happy.
permalink
21/12/2015 08:58:18

roland1963
roland1963
Posts: 41
urbanlamb wrote:
roland1963 wrote:
urbanlamb wrote:
Can you import files from the gallery? try a freebie just download it and try.

If that works just take their models out and stuff yours in all of it all the bits and pieces.


Of course, I imported sets from the store and they all open but Muvizu will not import my SketchUp when there is a texture... it imports them when there is not texture but when there is one; no...



Yes are they made in sketchup? there are some actual sketchup made models you need to try those not sets just models. At one point we could upload models that is what you need to try. Go to fazz's account and download a couple of his models and try those as he has confirmed they are all made in sketchup. This will determine if this is a sketchup issue or a muvizu issue or a pc issue.

http://muvizu.com/Profile/fazz68/Creations/?mediaType=25


try some of the older ones as he said they all contain the toto.bmp file.

here this one looks like it was one of his first ones

http://muvizu.com/3D/29902/reel-to-reel-tape-player
edited by urbanlamb on 20/12/2015



Hi Urban,

I did as you said, I imported the Banjo one (the first link you gave me)...It only imports the banjo... there is no colour at all on this banjo (ashame btw).. It is all grey as the Toto file.
In the banjo folder there is the ase, fbx and toto files...But no colour on my import... is it normal?

Roland
permalink
21/12/2015 08:59:00

roland1963
roland1963
Posts: 41
ukBerty wrote:
Roland,

Instead of using a folder on your desktop create a folder in the root of your C:\ drive called C:\UT3 - this is somehow a special location for default ASE files. Stick all your stuff in there and see if it works.

I have all my objects for import on my S:\ drive, but I still have a C:\UT3 directory with a lone TOTO.BMP file in it to make ASE files happy.


I tried this... does not work
permalink
21/12/2015 08:59:39

roland1963
roland1963
Posts: 41
PatMarrNC wrote:
I don't know if Roland hand-typed the example of his error message, or if he cut and pasted it... but if he cut and pasted it, the "file not found" error could be coming from a typo in his ASE file where he edited the texture file name.

His example error message said "toto. bpm" instead of "toto.bmp"


I did not copy it... it is a typo on my behalf
permalink
21/12/2015 09:12:25

MrDrWho13Muvizu mogulExperimental user
MrDrWho13
Posts: 2221
roland1963 wrote:
Hi Urban,

I did as you said, I imported the Banjo one (the first link you gave me)...It only imports the banjo... there is no colour at all on this banjo (ashame btw).. It is all grey as the Toto file.
In the banjo folder there is the ase, fbx and toto files...But no colour on my import... is it normal?
Roland

Yes this is normal if you haven't manually edited the .ase file via a text editor as others have explained:
ukBerty wrote:
When you import an ASE created from Sketchup you always have to edit it and replace this default texture with the textures you actually want as the sketchup exported does not export the textures.

ziggy72 wrote:
The ASE file is in plain text format. Are you saying you opened it in Notepad and manually replaced the path and filename from TOTO.BMP with the path and file name to your texture, and MUVIZU still won't find the right texture?
The Bitmap location for each material is the default TOTO file, to keep Muvizu happy, so my cigarette starts off as all one colour. I load each texture into each slot. If I wanted Muvizu to load each texture for me, I'd have the change the default BITMAP path to something else, like D:\my stuff\models\ciggy\filter.jpg, or something similar. Hope that helps.

Another thing I noticed from your error message that might be a typo problem:
"C\users\roland\Blabla\HipHop\textures\toto.bpm"
This should be C:\users\roland\Blabla\HipHop\textures\toto.bmp (Note the : after C)
edited by MrDrWho13 on 21/12/2015
edited by MrDrWho13 on 21/12/2015
permalink
21/12/2015 09:19:24

roland1963
roland1963
Posts: 41
MrDrWho13 wrote:
roland1963 wrote:
Hi Urban,

I did as you said, I imported the Banjo one (the first link you gave me)...It only imports the banjo... there is no colour at all on this banjo (ashame btw).. It is all grey as the Toto file.
In the banjo folder there is the ase, fbx and toto files...But no colour on my import... is it normal?
Roland

Yes this is normal if you haven't manually edited the .ase file via a text editor as others have explained:
ukBerty wrote:
When you import an ASE created from Sketchup you always have to edit it and replace this default texture with the textures you actually want as the sketchup exported does not export the textures.

ziggy72 wrote:
The ASE file is in plain text format. Are you saying you opened it in Notepad and manually replaced the path and filename from TOTO.BMP with the path and file name to your texture, and MUVIZU still won't find the right texture?
The Bitmap location for each material is the default TOTO file, to keep Muvizu happy, so my cigarette starts off as all one colour. I load each texture into each slot. If I wanted Muvizu to load each texture for me, I'd have the change the default BITMAP path to something else, like D:\my stuff\models\ciggy\filter.jpg, or something similar. Hope that helps.

Another thing I noticed from your error message that might be a typo problem:
"C\users\roland\Blabla\HipHop\textures\toto.bpm"
This should be C:\users\roland\Blabla\HipHop\textures\toto.bmp (Note the : after C)
edited by MrDrWho13 on 21/12/2015
edited by MrDrWho13 on 21/12/2015


I got it DrWho...

I replace the gray or pink original SketchUp colour by my personal texture in Muvizu's Edit window.

BUT, a big but... This banjo has several colours, like my cigarette... How can I assign each color to their dedicated part in Muvizu to get a multicolour model since the Muvizu's Edit window only ask for one!!!

Because this may be the issue I have with my marijuana cigarette... there is several textures on it and this seems to be the issue.
edited by roland1963 on 21/12/2015
permalink
21/12/2015 09:48:18

MrDrWho13Muvizu mogulExperimental user
MrDrWho13
Posts: 2221
I just downloaded Fazz's banjo to try out, and it seems to be importing fine with 9 different colour slots:



The text file seems to allocate each texture a separate ID while keeping the default toto.bmp:

(Excuse the dodgy circling, very difficult with a mouse )
Could you send me your cigarette as a sketchup file to mrdrwho13@gmail.com to see if I can find the problem?
permalink
21/12/2015 10:42:23

roland1963
roland1963
Posts: 41
MrDrWho13 wrote:
I just downloaded Fazz's banjo to try out, and it seems to be importing fine with 9 different colour slots:



The text file seems to allocate each texture a separate ID while keeping the default toto.bmp:

(Excuse the dodgy circling, very difficult with a mouse )
Could you send me your cigarette as a sketchup file to mrdrwho13@gmail.com to see if I can find the problem?


I got it... thanks for your help and offer but give me a minute... I think I got something going... let me try
permalink
21/12/2015 13:00:32

roland1963
roland1963
Posts: 41
MrDrWho13 wrote:
I just downloaded Fazz's banjo to try out, and it seems to be importing fine with 9 different colour slots:



The text file seems to allocate each texture a separate ID while keeping the default toto.bmp:

(Excuse the dodgy circling, very difficult with a mouse )
Could you send me your cigarette as a sketchup file to mrdrwho13@gmail.com to see if I can find the problem?


I managed to do it but there is still something a bit weird, so I sent you an email.

THanks MrDrWho
permalink
21/12/2015 15:48:43

PatMarrNCMuvizu mogul
PatMarrNC
Posts: 1742
what a great community of people who are willing to help!
permalink
21/12/2015 16:05:46

roland1963
roland1963
Posts: 41
PatMarrNC wrote:
what a great community of people who are willing to help!


True... I Like it,this is how this should always be...There is so much everyone can bring to each other...

BTW, I maybe a beginner in 3D Modeling but not with translation, I am a professional translator...never know, if I can help...
permalink
21/12/2015 16:21:42

MrDrWho13Muvizu mogulExperimental user
MrDrWho13
Posts: 2221
What languages do you speak?
permalink
pages: 1 2 | Please log in or register, then complete your details to create a post.

Home ? How Do I ...? ? MUvizu not importing SketchUP model...