Messages in this topic - RSS

Home ? Publishing Your Video ? Video Codecs

Please log in or register, then complete your details to create a post.
07/10/2013 23:44:01

mungy
mungy
Posts: 22
I still have this ongoing problem of not being able to make a video in anything other than uncompressed. I have installed the k-lite codec pack, reinstalled muvizu with no joy.

please, for the love of god, help me sort this problem out. I love what i can do with muvizu and would consider buying the plus version, depending on the results of the free version.

I have windows 7 64 bit, muvizu 64 bit and k-lite 64 bit codecs.
permalink
08/10/2013 02:52:52

ziggy72Muvizu mogulExperimental user
ziggy72
Posts: 1988
Did you install the 32bit version of the k-lite pack before the 64bit version? Some people insist it makes no difference, but all I can say is my codecs work without issues if I do them in that order.
permalink
08/10/2013 07:03:48

mungy
mungy
Posts: 22
the latest version installs both, I think.
permalink
09/10/2013 00:15:37

mungy
mungy
Posts: 22
Can anyone help with this?
permalink
09/10/2013 00:40:07

urbanlamb
urbanlamb
(Account inactive)
Posts: 1796
I dont use many codecs I would suggest doing what ziggy said from scratch but remove them all first and clean up your registry and reinstall in the order ziggy suggests.

Anyhow if this is your issue I would imagine that if you remove everything and redo it from scratch unless there is something unique about your system. I would suspect that your stuck with uncompressed. If this is the case use a video editor to process the uncompressed video.

most of us to be honest tend to use uncompressed or the image sequence ability and edit in a video editor. I know this is not likely the answer your looking for unfortunately.
edited by urbanlamb on 09/10/2013
permalink
09/10/2013 08:13:44

Mike_Num_5
Mike_Num_5
Posts: 165
Hi Mungy,

May I ask what resolution you are trying to render out at?

Some codecs will only do up to a certain resolution, as such, you may have all the codecs you need, it's just that the codecs won't support the resolution you are going for.

Here is what we have on codecs from our Wiki: http://www.muvizu.com/Wiki/wiki/78/codecs

The K-Lite pack includes the 32 and 64 bit codecs these days, so no need to download one or the other.

Try rendering out at a lower resolution to see if you get more codec options and increase as necessary.

Hope this helps!

-Mike.
permalink
10/10/2013 02:05:01

mungy
mungy
Posts: 22
there are no codecs to choose in the drop down, only uncompressed. I tried all resolutions.
edited by mungy on 10/10/2013
permalink
10/10/2013 02:20:15

mungy
mungy
Posts: 22
Mike_Num_5 wrote:
Hi Mungy,

May I ask what resolution you are trying to render out at?

Some codecs will only do up to a certain resolution, as such, you may have all the codecs you need, it's just that the codecs won't support the resolution you are going for.

Here is what we have on codecs from our Wiki: http://www.muvizu.com/Wiki/wiki/78/codecs

The K-Lite pack includes the 32 and 64 bit codecs these days, so no need to download one or the other.

Try rendering out at a lower resolution to see if you get more codec options and increase as necessary.

Hope this helps!

-Mike.



Argh.
Just installed the codecs again. I could only get uncompressed until I'd selected it - previously I wasn't selecting it because it wasn't what I wanted. After selecting it, when I click on it a load of codecs are listed, mostly matrox codecs, but no xvid, mp4. This is frustrating :S
permalink
10/10/2013 14:42:27

mungy
mungy
Posts: 22
just updating my saga Big Grin

ran the codec tweak tool and it fixed some problem things in the registry
removed the matrox codecs as they were part of software no longer on the computer.
the plus side of either/both of the above is that muvizu now closes gracefully and doesn't leave processes running.

uninstalled and reinstalled k-lite codecs.

my options are now: uncompressed, microsoft video 1, intel IYUV(iyuv), and intel IYUV(i420).

Anyone got any ideas where to go from here?
permalink
10/10/2013 14:57:50

ziggy72Muvizu mogulExperimental user
ziggy72
Posts: 1988
iYUV is a pretty good codec, used to use it myself until I went all uncompressed. If that's still producing files that are too big, your only other option seems to be to use the 32 bit version of Muvizu, which always supported more codecs than the 64 bit version (currently my Muvizu is showning just 2 codecs - msv1 and uncompressed, that's it, despite having the latest k lite pack). And I hadn't realised k Lite had merged their 64/32 bit codecs together in one pack these days, so that's one less complication at least! If you're not going to produce sets that exceed 3gb in your PC's memory, there really is no benefit to running the 64bit version of Muvizu anyway. And you can have both version installed side by side since they live in different places on your C drive. Can't hurt
permalink
10/10/2013 17:59:27

mungy
mungy
Posts: 22
ziggy72 wrote:
iYUV is a pretty good codec, used to use it myself until I went all uncompressed. If that's still producing files that are too big, your only other option seems to be to use the 32 bit version of Muvizu, which always supported more codecs than the 64 bit version (currently my Muvizu is showning just 2 codecs - msv1 and uncompressed, that's it, despite having the latest k lite pack). And I hadn't realised k Lite had merged their 64/32 bit codecs together in one pack these days, so that's one less complication at least! If you're not going to produce sets that exceed 3gb in your PC's memory, there really is no benefit to running the 64bit version of Muvizu anyway. And you can have both version installed side by side since they live in different places on your C drive. Can't hurt



I will try the 32 bit and report back Big Grin
permalink
10/10/2013 19:32:20

mungy
mungy
Posts: 22
1 extra codec and not a useful one at that. ho hum.
permalink
10/10/2013 19:54:35

JamieMuvizu staff
Jamie
(Account inactive)
Posts: 609
Hi mungy,

The first thing you need to know is that mp4 will never show up as a codec in Muvizu. Its not a AVI codec. You can convert your AVI video to MP4 later though.

Have you tried installing XVid as a stand-alone codec? I've often found it doesn't show up with K-lite codec pack installs and so, these days, I just go to http://www.xvid.org/Downloads.15.0.html and install the stand alone version.

If there are other codecs you want to use, could you list them one by one and we'll try and help you with them individually.

Let me know how you get on.

Cheers,
Jamie.
edited by Jamie on 10/10/2013

--
Direct, don't animate!
permalink
11/10/2013 00:11:21

mungy
mungy
Posts: 22
Jamie wrote:
Hi mungy,

The first thing you need to know is that mp4 will never show up as a codec in Muvizu. Its not a AVI codec. You can convert your AVI video to MP4 later though.

Have you tried installing XVid as a stand-alone codec? I've often found it doesn't show up with K-lite codec pack installs and so, these days, I just go to http://www.xvid.org/Downloads.15.0.html and install the stand alone version.

If there are other codecs you want to use, could you list them one by one and we'll try and help you with them individually.

Let me know how you get on.

Cheers,
Jamie.
edited by Jamie on 10/10/2013


Not sure if xvid has installed properly - it crashed with a nvinit.dll_unloaded message.

I want a codec that will generate smallish files that would be good enough for youtube. I would use muvizu for making videos for my own music so each video would be between 2:30-5:00 minutes long. The only ones I am familiar with are xvid and mp4. Any suggestions would be welcome.

Thank you in advance
permalink
11/10/2013 00:23:27

mungy
mungy
Posts: 22
xvid seems to have installed anyway and i now have the option.

thank you.
thank you, everyone
permalink
Please log in or register, then complete your details to create a post.

Home ? Publishing Your Video ? Video Codecs