Messages in this topic - RSS

Home ? Tech Help ? Trouble installing heros and villains characters

the topic is closed
01/02/2013 05:13:49

johnbrazen
johnbrazen
Posts: 3
I installed latest version of Muvizu and it appears to run fine. But when it tried to install the herosandvillans characters, I get a Heros And Villains Setup error box saying "Failed to find Muvizu install folder, is Muvizu installed?" I'm not able to get any further. I have the same problem with the other downloads also (i.e. lairs, prisons, etc.). Any help?
permalink
01/02/2013 11:26:06

JamieMuvizu staff
Jamie
(Account inactive)
Posts: 609
Hi John,

The first thing that comes to mind is you are using a 64bit version and the install is looking for a 32bit version by default?

When you are installing the hero and villains pack, have a look at the install location. If it says "C:\program files (x86)" and you know you are using the 64 bit version then remove the (x86) part from the path and it should install fine.

If this isn't the case, can you let us know -

a) where Muvizu is installed
b) what version of Muvizu you are using (start muvizu, go to the ? icon on the top right hand corner and select about, the version is along the bottom of that page)
c) have you tried to use the full version of Muvizu? It contains all the content packs and might be the easiest way to get all the content packs.

--
Direct, don't animate!
permalink
02/02/2013 04:00:05

johnbrazen
johnbrazen
Posts: 3
Thank you Jamie. I believe you are correct. I did download the 64bit version and it is located in C:\Program Files. The difficulty I have with the fix is that when I double click on the .exe file and hit the "Run" button, it goes direct to the error message and I don't get the opportunity to modify the install location. Is there a way to open the .exe file to do that? Or would it be easier to go to the 32bit version?
permalink
02/02/2013 18:43:40

urbanlamb
urbanlamb
(Account inactive)
Posts: 1796
this might not work but this is sounding like you had an old version on your pc and removed it?

I would clean my registry and look for any present installations of muvizu and remove any stray folders it sounds like your registry is scrambled. Then once you have cleaned your registry and ensured any stray bits of muvizu are gone download a new copy and install it to an entirely new location on your pc.

(reboot your pc of course after cleaning up the registry)

it might not work but when stuff gets jumbled its often a registry error and I have found muvizu sometimes gets scrambled.
permalink
03/02/2013 01:03:36

johnbrazen
johnbrazen
Posts: 3
You are correct, urbanlamb. I did have an older version. I took your advice and deleted all traces of muvizu, restarted the computer, reloaded the new (64bit) version and everything is there, including all the new characters and sets and stuff. Thank you very much.
john
permalink
03/02/2013 01:28:12

urbanlamb
urbanlamb
(Account inactive)
Posts: 1796
Cool glad it worked Thumbs Up

happy muvizuing
permalink
the topic is closed

Home ? Tech Help ? Trouble installing heros and villains characters