Messages in this topic - RSS

Home ? Feedback ? Feedback on Muvizu - 5th September 2011 (ENG)

pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 | the topic is closed
05/09/2011 18:34:58

simonhefferMuvizu mogulExperimental user
simonheffer
Posts: 225
Looks to me that the object properties location sliders are incorrectly labelled.
E.g.
The top one, back/forth, causes left/right.
Second one, left/right, goes back/forth.

The bottom two rotation sliders don't seem right either.

I've tried on old and newly created characters.
64bit Muvizu.
permalink
05/09/2011 20:08:56

ziggy72Muvizu mogulExperimental user
ziggy72
Posts: 1988
Ooh, very slick! And I can actually see what's going on without the windows getting in the way - excellent. I have to agree about the font size though - it's just way too small generally (we don't all have 50 inch screens ya know ).

The new walking method with the double click is genius - finally, an easy way to make the little buggers walk in a straight line! (or run - nice touch). It's good that you can 'queue' the next motion before the previous one is finished, to avoid gaps in the animation. I don't see any difference with the Snapping option though - on or off, objects dont seem to behave any differently than they used to. Or am I misunderstanding what it does?

Great stuff with the lighting/shadows options - will take a bit of tweaking, but I'm sure it will lead to some great looking movies in the future.

One last thing - keyboard shortcuts. (serious deja vu here) Could you assign keys to the zoom in/out buttons on the timeline (again) or at least tell us what they are now, since my Saitek setup doesn't correspond to what the program now has as keys for those functions. I spend a LOT of time with the timeline, so I needs me buttons

I've only started investigating the changes, but so far it all looks good (except for the font, which looks like an eye test). Excellent stuff! Applause
permalink
05/09/2011 21:50:10

Marco_D
Marco_D
Posts: 582
simonheffer wrote:
Looks to me that the object properties location sliders are incorrectly labelled.
E.g.
The top one, back/forth, causes left/right.
Second one, left/right, goes back/forth.

The bottom two rotation sliders don't seem right either.

I've tried on old and newly created characters.
64bit Muvizu.


Hey Simon,

Does that happen to all items? I found a few where that happens, but they spawn side-ways, making the alignment correct.
If that only happens to a few items can you please send us the list so we can have a look?
You can send the list to our bugs@muvizu.com email address

Thanks in advance.

Cheers,
Marco
edited by Marco_D on 05/09/2011
permalink
05/09/2011 21:52:22

DanimalMuvizu mogulExperimental user
Danimal
Posts: 477
Let me chime in on the small font size as well. Seems kind of straining for the eyes after a while.

However, I love the two-column format on the character actions prepare window, allowing way more to be seen at once. I did notice that when you select an action the character performs it, as before. Unlike before, when you click it again, he does nothing. In other words, you can only audition each action once. To see it again you have to select another action, then back to the first.

The new microphone shows as "None" when you hover the mouse over it.

Really though, these are minor bellyaches. The layout looks great and really maximizes real estate. The various shadow tweaks look awesome as well.

Excellent new release!
permalink
05/09/2011 22:45:13

CrazyDaveMuvizu staff
CrazyDave
Posts: 118
Marco_D wrote:
You can send the list to our bugs@mubizu.com email address



Mubizu? :-)
edited by CrazyDave on 05/09/2011
permalink
05/09/2011 23:19:21

artpenMuvizu mogulExperimental user
artpen
Posts: 362
Had a little go, love it!
Like the split screen for the camera view, much better to work with.
It's got an anime studio feel to it, nice touch there team Muvizu.

The text is small but it's worth it for all the new gizmos and sliders.

The point and click movement system is a godsend.

That's all I can say at the moment, I'll be back working on it properly tommorow
But overall, it's looking and feeling like a very powerful 3d package now.
Bring it on!!!! LLM
edited by artpen on 05/09/2011
permalink
05/09/2011 23:38:37

Marco_D
Marco_D
Posts: 582
CrazyDave wrote:
Marco_D wrote:
You can send the list to our bugs@mubizu.com email address



Mubizu? :-)
edited by CrazyDave on 05/09/2011


I stand corrected edited the post.
Thanks Dave, I just need more coffee hehehe.

Cheers,
Marco
permalink
06/09/2011 14:53:17

WabbyMuvizu mogulExperimental user
Wabby
Posts: 98
Hi Muvizu Team,

Beautiful new interface, but a problem persists with the window properties of an object.

I am talking about an object imported from Google Sketchup (ASE file) with many colors / images. If the color list is too long, the window over the screen and it is impossible to complete the settings. (it may be missing a scrollbar)

I hope this is understandable, my English is not very good.

Thanks again for your great software !
edited by Wabby on 06/09/2011
edited by Wabby on 09/09/2011
permalink
06/09/2011 19:45:45

mystoMuvizu mogulExperimental user
mysto
Posts: 471
I like the new interface! Being able to re-size and position the windows where I want them is great! I'll have to get used to using the new timeline but that's not a big deal. I do miss not being able to double click the mouse and place cue points and being able to delete individual cue points but again no biggie, I'll get used to it. I also miss the little "ruler marks" on the old timeline as they seemed to help me fine tune things.

I noticed right away that not only does Muvizu load a lot faster but the slight lag I was getting when dealing with fairly complex sets seems to be gone as well.

I had some set files that would no longer load into the older version of Muvizu. I kept getting the "file is in an unknown format" message. VERY frustrating for me. This only seemed to occur when I had a lot of lights and special effects in a set. Well, just for kicks I tried loading them into the new version of Muvizu and they all loaded great! There were a few minor issues with some lights and effects not being timed right but other than that everything loaded spot on.

I haven't really played around with all of the new features yet but so far I like the new version of Muvizu a lot. Hats off to the Muvizu crew for once again "topping" themselves!
permalink
06/09/2011 20:22:47

ukBertyMuvizu mogulExperimental user
ukBerty
Posts: 976
Ooh - that's annoying......

The link button on the scale sliders of an object defaults to off. It's different, but fair enough.

Worse though, tick it on and close the properties box, then go back into it and the link button is unticked again.

Grrrrrr......
permalink
06/09/2011 22:20:08

simonhefferMuvizu mogulExperimental user
simonheffer
Posts: 225
ukBerty wrote:
Ooh - that's annoying......

The link button on the scale sliders of an object defaults to off. It's different, but fair enough.

Worse though, tick it on and close the properties box, then go back into it and the link button is unticked again.

Grrrrrr......


In fact I'd like a check box for each slider so that I can link any 2 from three as some objects like a wall I want to make taller and wider but not thicker.
permalink
07/09/2011 02:57:30

mystoMuvizu mogulExperimental user
mysto
Posts: 471
I according to the tutorial about cue points you're supposed to be able to "right click" on a cue point to edit it. Well, when I tried doing this the edit window didn't pop up. I tried various things to get the edit cue point window to pop up and couldn't get it. Is this a glitch or am I doing something wrong?
permalink
07/09/2011 08:23:43

Quoling
Quoling
Posts: 112
I have had problems with old sets - after saving and reopening I get a warning that something has become corrupted - this seems linked to saving the file as after a save, I tried to direct some movement and nothing worked...even preparing actions just stopped.
permalink
07/09/2011 09:07:31

artpenMuvizu mogulExperimental user
artpen
Posts: 362
I'm having a similar problem but with sketch up models.

The old sets load up no problem, but when I save them again it gives me a error
Message telling me the object will not display properly when I try to re-load the
set.....

The set loads, but with no colour sliders for your object, with the object set at its
Default colour?

I was going to get a haircut on Friday, no need now...

Peace, artpen
edited by artpen on 07/09/2011
permalink
07/09/2011 10:42:04

barrys
barrys
Posts: 102
mysto wrote:
I according to the tutorial about cue points you're supposed to be able to "right click" on a cue point to edit it. Well, when I tried doing this the edit window didn't pop up. I tried various things to get the edit cue point window to pop up and couldn't get it. Is this a glitch or am I doing something wrong?


Hello Mysto

Yes, it's a bug we know about. I recorded the video tutorial a couple of days before Muvizu was released. Somehow in the official version this feature has been switched off but we'll get it fixed - promise. It was an accidental casualty in the mad scramble to get the Release ready for publication.

Barry
permalink
07/09/2011 18:35:16

DyllyMuvizu mogulExperimental user
Dylly
Posts: 555
Got a problem with the sound effects.

I'm running the 32bit version, when ever you work with the sound effects the 'in-muvizu' sound effects come out distorted. When this occurs muvizu stops working and shuts down. Also when playing back the movie either in the timeline editor or on the screen to make movie, even if the sound effects has been ok it will suddenly distort one effect and then muvizu will stop working and then shut down.
permalink
07/09/2011 21:28:12

Quoling
Quoling
Posts: 112
AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAARGH after 2 hours work last night updating an "old" set - just reloaded and I am getting errors "an object propery has been unexpectedly changed and this file will not display properly" - this is REALLY annoying as I was able to save the file but cannot load it back in!!! - lots of editing/prep/direction done....all wasted... sorry Emily...no Queen video yet! It did load in eventually but could not work with it - characters not where they should be - everything out of synch - lots missing..
edited by Quoling on 08/09/2011
permalink
08/09/2011 07:59:05

artpenMuvizu mogulExperimental user
artpen
Posts: 362
I know how you feel, this is the same thing that is happening to me.

It happens when you re save and re load an old set with sketch up models.

I might have to go back to the last muvizu beta to finish my project... sob sob...
permalink
08/09/2011 08:11:13

ukBertyMuvizu mogulExperimental user
ukBerty
Posts: 976
I've been working on scripts and character design so far this week, but have now come to some set design and, oh dear - imported objects are a real issue and effectively means the new version is unusable for me.

Interestingly as Quoling has already pointed out, you can load the .set once without error and save it, but after that you get "An object's property has been unexpectedly changed....", your imported object just show in pink, and have no colour properties.

This is also not an issue with the objects themselves, as it happens on "official" Muvizu imported objects like the Christmas collection.

If you save it in this condition you will get the same error when saving. This is a warning as you will NEVER BE ABLE TO OPEN THAT SET AGAIN. You get an error "Necessary data is missing from the file".

If you remove all the imported objects you can save the .set, but if you import an object you start at the beginning of the cycle - i.e. you can save the set once without error, but when loading again the objects will be pink and you cannot save again without corrupting the .set

Just do the following :-
  • Start a blank set and import the Christmas tree.
  • Save the set
  • Open the set - you get an error and the tree is pink
  • save the set - you get an error
  • open the set - kaboom - you can't

This is really disappointing and I'll have to revert to the old version until you can save sets.


I'm gutted, as it was looking so good.
edited by ukBerty on 08/09/2011
permalink
08/09/2011 08:19:34

ukBertyMuvizu mogulExperimental user
ukBerty
Posts: 976
Oh no - my day's just been ruined. You can't open .set files saved in the new version in the old.

I have a set with all my character designs in which I created with the new version and now want to start animating with them, but I can't get them out of that set into the old version (favourites seem to get wiped out between versions, and may not be backwards compatible anyway).

I can't animate in the new version as you can't use imported objects, which I use a lot.

Double Grrrrrr.......
permalink
pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 | the topic is closed

Home ? Feedback ? Feedback on Muvizu - 5th September 2011 (ENG)