Messages in this topic - RSS

Home ? Importing Assets ? FBX UDK editor stuff.

pages: 1 2 3 | Please log in or register, then complete your details to create a post.
21/10/2013 23:37:09

urbanlamb
urbanlamb
(Account inactive)
Posts: 1796
I thought I would add this. I am avoiding the wiki for the moment but I found this info when digging through the udk forums to decide if someone made some more udk type stuff in relation to blender (I like to avoid multiple softwares if possible)

anyhow i found this list of tutorials on how to use the UDK editor it explains the basics of how materials work anyhow for those looking for "free" this will offer a solution although its rather um convoluted if you can learn to filter out the bits that you dont need to use and just focus and mesh, materials and textures you can do this.

http://waylon-art.com/LearningUnreal/


Now for those wanting the easy way out (my prefered way I try to reduce button clicking to a dull roar) the cheapest and most flawless solution I found that had a price tag attached unfortunately its the iclone3D exchange if you use blender and that your good to go as they have in fact installed a very good unreal engine exporter (based off the dev tools of course)

Anyhow this is two ways one with a price tag and one without. Again at the moment nothing i do inside blender allows for direct export of meshes with their accompanying set of maps and I have found no info to say that this is possible yet either. However you can turn on the material options easily inside blender. Its just the accompanyimg maps that get left behind :/

I have found this info on how to manually edit the file for the fbx export to add normal maps in blender
http://xboxforums.create.msdn.com/forums/t/27447.aspx

Anyhow for now unless some more work is done on the fbx exporter about the only thing that can be done is the material properties be activated.
edited by urbanlamb on 22/10/2013
permalink
22/10/2013 17:24:30

mrjoyce
mrjoyce
Posts: 2
Now for those wanting the easy way out (my prefered way I try to reduce button clicking to a dull roar) the cheapest and most flawless solution I found that had a price tag attached unfortunately its the iclone3D exchange if you use blender and that your good to go as they have in fact installed a very good unreal engine exporter (based off the dev tools of course)



I have an old version of iclone 3D exchange 2. Will this work or do I need a newer version?
Thanks
permalink
22/10/2013 17:30:52

urbanlamb
urbanlamb
(Account inactive)
Posts: 1796
mrjoyce wrote:
Now for those wanting the easy way out (my prefered way I try to reduce button clicking to a dull roar) the cheapest and most flawless solution I found that had a price tag attached unfortunately its the iclone3D exchange if you use blender and that your good to go as they have in fact installed a very good unreal engine exporter (based off the dev tools of course)



I have an old version of iclone 3D exchange 2. Will this work or do I need a newer version?
Thanks



I have the pipeline version i dont know if this will work with the pro version you will have to try to export something to find out. 3dexchange is setting itself up to be a work horse for file conversions its a wonderful tool no matter what your engine choice. I am pretty sure you need the pipleline version now its hard to tell from the info if they allow fbx mesh only export with the pro version or not. You will definately need to upgrade your present version from 2 to 5 though
edited by urbanlamb on 22/10/2013
permalink
22/10/2013 17:48:02

mrjoyce
mrjoyce
Posts: 2
Thanks, will look into it
permalink
22/10/2013 21:18:44

gimmick
gimmick
Posts: 179
Unfortunately, only the Pipeline version makes exports in FBX

http://www.reallusion.com/iclone/3dx/3dx_matrix.aspx
permalink
22/10/2013 21:29:22

primaveranz
primaveranz
Posts: 524
mrjoyce wrote:
Thanks, will look into it


Hi Mike, Milkshape 3D will export in FBX format
permalink
22/10/2013 21:44:53

urbanlamb
urbanlamb
(Account inactive)
Posts: 1796
primaveranz wrote:
mrjoyce wrote:
Thanks, will look into it


Hi Mike, Milkshape 3D will export in FBX format



yes here is the link http://milkshape3d.com/

I found it to be a nasty piece of software which i wont use its actually harder to use visually then blender even which is a stretch. It will do basic exports similar to blender it wont add all the map layers or collision but if you prefer milkshape to blender your free to try. If you have access to blender and know how to export then basically your doing what milkshape does.
edited by urbanlamb on 22/10/2013
permalink
22/10/2013 22:14:04

primaveranz
primaveranz
Posts: 524
urbanlamb wrote:


I found it to be a nasty piece of software which i wont use ..


Lol! Yes, like all software it requires a certain degree of application but personally I have found it much more intuitive and easier to use than Blender and better at low polygon modelling so - you takes your choice.
permalink
22/10/2013 22:59:29

urbanlamb
urbanlamb
(Account inactive)
Posts: 1796
primaveranz wrote:
urbanlamb wrote:


I found it to be a nasty piece of software which i wont use ..


Lol! Yes, like all software it requires a certain degree of application but personally I have found it much more intuitive and easier to use than Blender and better at low polygon modelling so - you takes your choice.



Unfortunately I have not found anything "freeish" to add all the maps this is where they make their monies as the UDK applications all of them all assume that your going directly into unreal engine to add the maps the only cheaper alternative to spending 3-5k I have found is the iclone exchange which is why I mentioned it well unless you want to go through the fbx file and write in the names. This is the only workshop type deal that goes both ways so its a great tool. Muvizu pro is working under the assumption you have access to 3dsmax which of course add the map layers because unreal decided to cater to 3dsmax which has a monopoly on this ability. If you read all the unreal infos they refer to max all the time even their unit of measurement is based off of 3dsmax scale. In any event I like my normal maps and opacity maps and spec maps but its possible to turn on the material abilities without using the pipeline its just 'way prettier' if you run it through an application that will allow you to add maps.

I was just trying to find an automated process that would allow this function without manually editing the files in notepad or some such stuffs. Anyhow I satisfied myself last night that in fact (for the moment) there is no way.

There are noises about working to add maps with the fbx abilities in blender but that is a whole other set of buttons and their software has hit a design wall and can't progress further until they fix their UI.

At the end of the day there is an old bag with carpel tunnel syndrome from all the clicking over the years trying to find a way not to click if possible Big Grin
permalink
22/10/2013 23:38:41

urbanlamb
urbanlamb
(Account inactive)
Posts: 1796
just to show what I am speaking of here is a screenshot of what I was speaking of the udk settings to allow import of maps there are limited ways this is part of the fbx import that is left out in any "free" or "freeish" option I have found. To get maps layers onto the material on the ways I mentioned in the initial post are the only way (for the moment)


edited by urbanlamb on 22/10/2013
permalink
27/11/2013 21:06:35

larrygj
larrygj
Posts: 9
gimmick wrote:
Unfortunately, only the Pipeline version makes exports in FBX

http://www.reallusion.com/iclone/3dx/3dx_matrix.aspx


I have the trial version of this software, and it seems to be a hit and miss operation as far as exporting FBX files usable in Muvizu. This whole subject matter
is rather confusing to me. Does Muvizu take in only binary FBX Files, or can it do ASCII as well? Are there file size limitations? Do the default
settings in the Pipeline version need to be tweaked for Muvizu? Right now this whole FPX import feature seems awfully buggy to me.
permalink
28/11/2013 18:56:35

urbanlamb
urbanlamb
(Account inactive)
Posts: 1796
Its not hit and miss for me I have been using it exclusively in fact every asset on the gallery has been run through the exporter in Iclone I hesitate to create a tutorial on this because its promoting iclone and so I dont know if muvizu would want it on their site, but I would imagine the pro version would work I upgraded to pipeline so can't say for sure as I do a lot of game engine stuff and its got excellent integration for both unreal and unity even if you use maya or 3dsmax its actually faster to run the exports through here for unreal engine etc.

I can create a tutorial but it would be for the pipeline version I think they removed this from the other versions its a very powerful tool so I would not be surprised if its not limited to pipeline

basically use the unreal configuration and remove the merge opacity from alpha channels (you want that to stay intact) uncheck the support for the skeletons and animations it will throw and exception error at this point as the meshes should be without this and leave it on cm unless you want a massive object.

You can then add all missing maps etc and export you will have to build collision into the model first using your 3d modelling software and have everything properly mapped out and ready to accept the maps.

I have found the pipeline works flawlessly for muvizu, unreal, unity and anything else I tried.

Anyhow if i get time I will create a tutorial but it will not be in the wiki or uploaded via muvizu it will be on my channel only and I guess I can put a link on the forum but since iclone is a competitor I dont think it would be accepted here (logically I would say no as well if i were to moderate it so )


also if your experiencing issues its likely on the muvizu end I have found zero issues from the exporter end they have all been something that relates to muvizu however on my last set of assets I made I found any bugs gone from muvizu so it should work 99.9999% of the time however you need to worry about the integrity of the model and understand the udk collission etc in order to set the model up correctly
edited by urbanlamb on 28/11/2013
permalink
29/11/2013 09:34:24

snoopylino
snoopylino
Posts: 36
hello,
I've got a problem - I use the pipeline (trial version) and when I want to import the fbx file in Muvizu this message appears

the function you want to use now is not licensed for this version
what I'm doing wrong. is it the export settings of the pipeline?
wanted to try the pipeline. but it does not help me with this error

a tutorial would be really great urbanlamp


urbanlamb wrote:
Its not hit and miss for me I have been using it exclusively in fact every asset on the gallery has been run through the exporter in Iclone I hesitate to create a tutorial on this because its promoting iclone and so I dont know if muvizu would want it on their site, but I would imagine the pro version would work I upgraded to pipeline so can't say for sure as I do a lot of game engine stuff and its got excellent integration for both unreal and unity even if you use maya or 3dsmax its actually faster to run the exports through here for unreal engine etc.

I can create a tutorial but it would be for the pipeline version I think they removed this from the other versions its a very powerful tool so I would not be surprised if its not limited to pipeline

basically use the unreal configuration and remove the merge opacity from alpha channels (you want that to stay intact) uncheck the support for the skeletons and animations it will throw and exception error at this point as the meshes should be without this and leave it on cm unless you want a massive object.

You can then add all missing maps etc and export you will have to build collision into the model first using your 3d modelling software and have everything properly mapped out and ready to accept the maps.

I have found the pipeline works flawlessly for muvizu, unreal, unity and anything else I tried.

Anyhow if i get time I will create a tutorial but it will not be in the wiki or uploaded via muvizu it will be on my channel only and I guess I can put a link on the forum but since iclone is a competitor I dont think it would be accepted here (logically I would say no as well if i were to moderate it so )


also if your experiencing issues its likely on the muvizu end I have found zero issues from the exporter end they have all been something that relates to muvizu however on my last set of assets I made I found any bugs gone from muvizu so it should work 99.9999% of the time however you need to worry about the integrity of the model and understand the udk collission etc in order to set the model up correctly
edited by urbanlamb on 28/11/2013
permalink
29/11/2013 09:46:02

JamieMuvizu staff
Jamie
(Account inactive)
Posts: 609
Hi snoopylino,

The error message you are getting means that your fbx contains something that is not licenced for Muvizu:Play+ (to state the obvious )

FBX can contain a lot of different type of things, such as lights, characters, animations and cameras. Muvizu:Play+ only supports static mesh objects for import. Most 3D modelling packages will include things like lights and cameras in the scene by default and FBX will, by default export these as well. In blender there is an option to export 'only the selected items' so you can select the model you want and only export that. Have a look in your FBX exporter and see if there is a similar option but if not take a closer look at the scene and try to delete anything except the object you want to export.

--
Direct, don't animate!
permalink
29/11/2013 10:12:49

snoopylino
snoopylino
Posts: 36
hi staff - Thanks for the answer - I'll check now time ;-)
Jamie wrote:
Hi snoopylino,

The error message you are getting means that your fbx contains something that is not licenced for Muvizu:Play+ (to state the obvious )

FBX can contain a lot of different type of things, such as lights, characters, animations and cameras. Muvizu:Play+ only supports static mesh objects for import. Most 3D modelling packages will include things like lights and cameras in the scene by default and FBX will, by default export these as well. In blender there is an option to export 'only the selected items' so you can select the model you want and only export that. Have a look in your FBX exporter and see if there is a similar option but if not take a closer look at the scene and try to delete anything except the object you want to export.
permalink
29/11/2013 10:31:22

toonaramaMuvizu mogulExperimental user
toonarama
Posts: 661
Snoopylino -also be aware of the limitations of the trial version (see below) and it is worth knowing that the cheaper pro version of 3dxchange allows you to export OBJ files which can then be converted into FBX files using the free autodesk converter.

Can only export 15 times and If you export 1 character with 3 motions in one FBX file, you will spend 4 export times
































edited by toonarama on 29/11/2013
permalink
29/11/2013 11:25:09

snoopylino
snoopylino
Posts: 36
hi toonarama ;-)
yes I know - thanks for the note - I wanted to test whether the pipeline version is better times - but you're right - maybe I should use the pro version to 3dxhange and fbxconverter also. is very expensive, the pipeline;-(
thank you very much

toonarama wrote:
Snoopylino -also be aware of the limitations of the trial version (see below) and it is worth knowing that the cheaper pro version of 3dxchange allows you to export OBJ files which can then be converted into FBX files using the free autodesk converter.

Can only export 15 times and If you export 1 character with 3 motions in one FBX file, you will spend 4 export times
































edited by toonarama on 29/11/2013
permalink
29/11/2013 15:46:09

urbanlamb
urbanlamb
(Account inactive)
Posts: 1796
snoopy I would not spend money on this if your using blender because the obj format export from 3dxechange into the autodesk converter will result in the removal of any of the maps etc so your wasting your money. You will end up with an object that is identical to if you exported from blender to muvizu. The only benefit of having this exchange is to finish the work on the object.

blender -> muvizu will result in the same thing

The purpose of the unreal fbx export options are to keep the information intact for muvizu to interpret and if there is no unreal support in the pro version then save your money unless you have intention to use the 3Dexchange for iclone movies.
permalink
30/11/2013 09:15:05

snoopylino
snoopylino
Posts: 36
urbanlanp - as you probably right - but it would be great to have the pipeline - which would facilitate the work. but it's true the pipeline is too expensive. So I'm learning more diligently, step by step blender to make it right :-)
have a nice day


urbanlamb wrote:
snoopy I would not spend money on this if your using blender because the obj format export from 3dxechange into the autodesk converter will result in the removal of any of the maps etc so your wasting your money. You will end up with an object that is identical to if you exported from blender to muvizu. The only benefit of having this exchange is to finish the work on the object.

blender -> muvizu will result in the same thing

The purpose of the unreal fbx export options are to keep the information intact for muvizu to interpret and if there is no unreal support in the pro version then save your money unless you have intention to use the 3Dexchange for iclone movies.
permalink
02/03/2015 07:11:28

EEFilmzExperimental user
EEFilmz
Posts: 397
I was very easily able to create in another program a 3d object, export it as .fxb into blender then export as .ase and import into Muvizu pretty easily first time awesome; I tried it using a 30 day trial version of Curvy3D which I intend to buy as I am learning it now and it is great for artists learning 3d modeling and not ready for blender full on yet!

I'm hoping something will be in the muvizu update that will allow more 3d objects/attachments etc I'm a noob when it comes to doing this part of 3d but I'm learning, unfortunately my hands go extremely numb/pain now w/my peripheral neuropoathy which is more frustrating than ever: I agree with above statement "the less clicks the better".


THE QUESTION IS: I'd like to know if there's ANY way to attach an imported 3d object to a muvizu character (like over his body)?


or possibly modify existing muvizu attachments outside of muvizu then reimport as something else? (unless this is a not possible, plausable, or not allowed by muvizu)???


please reopen the asset gallery 8)
permalink
pages: 1 2 3 | Please log in or register, then complete your details to create a post.

Home ? Importing Assets ? FBX UDK editor stuff.