Messages in this topic - RSS

Home ? Feedback ? bleeding edge beta and things that made me go hmmn

pages: 1 2 3 4 5 | the topic is closed
06/12/2010 20:35:36

ziggy72Muvizu mogulExperimental user
ziggy72
Posts: 1988
@Neil Thankyou again, knew you wouldn't let us Muvizuers down (is that the proper name for us now? Muvizuettes, perhaps?)

And if Dreeko gets his dragon, I want a dinosaur!!



Just kidding!
permalink
21/01/2011 23:09:44

ziggy72Muvizu mogulExperimental user
ziggy72
Posts: 1988
Me again, with another gripe (sorry). When you import an object from Sketchup or whatever, if the list of colours in the object properties window are too long the scale bars are out of sight, and therefore not able to be changed. Also can't make it float in the air or be stood on (I assume those controls are still there too, just can't see them). Could we have an option to flick the bottom (non colour) controls up to the side of the properties window? Or am I just missing an obvious way to reach these contols?
permalink
26/01/2011 16:45:18

mitzvu
mitzvu
Posts: 2
Hi everyone my first post!

I have to say Muvizu, is FANTASTIC!!!!

BUT.. I'm working on my muvizu project and have run into the same problem that ziggy72 mentions above, the list of colours in the object properties window are too long for the model I've imported from Sketchup

Help please!
permalink
30/01/2011 14:26:39

ziggy72Muvizu mogulExperimental user
ziggy72
Posts: 1988
Oh dear, I seem to be finding more stuff...

This time, it's a wierd effect only seen at distance - I have a fat man character with a beard (not the fake option) and he looks fine in Unlit mode, but when he's Lit his beard dissapears the further the camera gets from him (a block at a time). This effect also appears to effect eyelids and faces at distance when Lit - you can actually see it in Freshsmint's Police Academy vid (the female officer has a white block of missing skin under her eyes). I'm shooting around it for now, but...help!
permalink
30/01/2011 14:30:57

mystoMuvizu mogulExperimental user
mysto
Posts: 471
ziggy72 wrote:
Oh dear, I seem to be finding more stuff...

This time, it's a wierd effect only seen at distance - I have a fat man character with a beard (not the fake option) and he looks fine in Unlit mode, but when he's Lit his beard dissapears the further the camera gets from him (a block at a time). This effect also appears to effect eyelids and faces at distance when Lit - you can actually see it in Freshsmint's Police Academy vid (the female officer has a white block of missing skin under her eyes). I'm shooting around it for now, but...help!



I've had this same issue with a few videos I've made. Very strange.
permalink
31/01/2011 09:24:03

Emily
Emily
(Account inactive)
Posts: 346
Ziggy, Mysto,

Are you guys using an ATI graphics card? If so, this is a known issue, with ATI and the unreal engine, and it doesn't seem to affect just Muvizu. We are trying to find a fix for this in the next build.

Emily
permalink
31/01/2011 11:32:44

Quoling
Quoling
Posts: 112
ziggy72 wrote:
Me again, with another gripe (sorry). When you import an object from Sketchup or whatever, if the list of colours in the object properties window are too long the scale bars are out of sight, and therefore not able to be changed. Also can't make it float in the air or be stood on (I assume those controls are still there too, just can't see them). Could we have an option to flick the bottom (non colour) controls up to the side of the properties window? Or am I just missing an obvious way to reach these contols?


That happens to me as well - I think I read somewhere that this was going to be updated - hopefully so that the colours are automatic! - the float/stood on are there but at the bottom of the long screen - although for "stood on" you would need to do a collision anyway - which again can be quite long winded to do in Sketchup
permalink
31/01/2011 11:46:01

NeilExperimental userMuvizu staff
Neil
Posts: 396
ziggy72 wrote:
Could we have an option to flick the bottom (non colour) controls up to the side of the properties window? Or am I just missing an obvious way to reach these contols?

I can't offer any helpful advice to get around this, sadly. However, a future version of the Muvizu UI will fix the problem by adding a scroll bar.
permalink
31/01/2011 12:20:35

glasgowjim
glasgowjim
Posts: 698
Quoling wrote:
ziggy72 wrote:
Me again, with another gripe (sorry). When you import an object from Sketchup or whatever, if the list of colours in the object properties window are too long the scale bars are out of sight, and therefore not able to be changed. Also can't make it float in the air or be stood on (I assume those controls are still there too, just can't see them). Could we have an option to flick the bottom (non colour) controls up to the side of the properties window? Or am I just missing an obvious way to reach these contols?


That happens to me as well - I think I read somewhere that this was going to be updated - hopefully so that the colours are automatic! - the float/stood on are there but at the bottom of the long screen - although for "stood on" you would need to do a collision anyway - which again can be quite long winded to do in Sketchup



If you open it up the ASE file using a text editor (I use Notepad ++) you will see entries like this:


*SUBMATERIAL 10 {
*MATERIAL_NAME "<DarkGray>1"
*MATERIAL_CLASS "Standard"
*MAP_DIFFUSE {
*MAP_CLASS "Bitmap"
*BITMAP "C:\ut3\toto.bmp"
*UVW_U_OFFSET 0.0
*UVW_V_OFFSET 0.0
*UVW_U_TILING 1.0
*UVW_V_TILING 1.0


If you delete all of the entries past submaterial 10 you will lose some of the colour customisation options in Muvizu but you should be able to see the "Stood On" buttons etc.

This shouldn't cause a crash, as any blank materials should automatically become material #1, but I would save a copy of the original model, just in case.

Take care,
-Jim
permalink
31/01/2011 20:15:24

ziggy72Muvizu mogulExperimental user
ziggy72
Posts: 1988
@ Emily - Yup, ATI video card. Changed to it not long after I upgraded to the bleeding edge version, but I thought the glitches were Muvizu's fault...damn ATI! Thanks for the info all the same.

@Neil - Scroll bar? Why didn't I think of that! Awesome, thankyou in advance.

@GlasgowJim - Nice workaround!

Thankyou All! Now, back to trying to animate this bloody sweary thing...
permalink
31/01/2011 21:42:49

mystoMuvizu mogulExperimental user
mysto
Posts: 471
Emily, yes I have an ATI Fire Pro 4800 graphics card. These little "glitches" don't really bother me, it's all part of being in the "bleeding edge" community. I LOVE IT!!!!!!!! Rock Bandrock on
edited by mysto on 31/01/2011
permalink
01/02/2011 09:34:42

Emily
Emily
(Account inactive)
Posts: 346
Mysto & Ziggy - thanks for your positivity - and patience!!

I also have this problem, using an ATI Radeon HD 5600, it drives me totally nuts - even to the point it puts me off making vids. There's no real workaround, the only thing that I've noticed is that this issue seems to get worse the further the camera gets from the character. So you can bypass it by sticking to lots of close shots, but it's a bit limiting.

The other thing that you can do is to finish off everything in the set, and then pass it to someone else to render. If you have any friends with a non-AVI card, this is a cheeky way to get a good quality video from your set.

Maybe there are some people out there in the Muvzu community who can collaborate with you to work around this?

I'm sure you can find a way to pay them back
permalink
01/02/2011 21:51:49

ziggy72Muvizu mogulExperimental user
ziggy72
Posts: 1988
@ Emily - Good suggestions, but I can't do it that way (I render each shot, review it, change it, render it, review it, change it, render it...that's why I don't make so many!). One question though - when the upgrade to the Unreal engine is finished, will the problem remain for ATI card users? I needs ta know!
permalink
02/02/2011 16:08:50

Emily
Emily
(Account inactive)
Posts: 346
@Ziggy - one of our Code Ninjas seems to have squashed the ATI bug...however, the fix still needs to get thoroughly checked before the next release...so...it looks very promising, but as always...no promises!!! :P
permalink
02/02/2011 16:42:13

glasgowjim
glasgowjim
Posts: 698
Code Ninja? Surely you can't be referring to Dave?

Ninjas are meant to be agile and stealthy and Dave, well - is like this:

permalink
02/02/2011 16:51:32

Emily
Emily
(Account inactive)
Posts: 346
He is a ninja of CODE. When it comes to motor control and spatial perception he is a DUNCE



Is that a demo laptop just out of shot there?
permalink
02/02/2011 22:42:55

ziggy72Muvizu mogulExperimental user
ziggy72
Posts: 1988
Emily wrote:
@Ziggy - one of our Code Ninjas seems to have squashed the ATI bug...however, the fix still needs to get thoroughly checked before the next release...so...it looks very promising, but as always...no promises!!! :P


Thanks! But after you've squashed the bug, could you send it my way so I can jump up and down on it a bit? Won't fix anything, but I'll feel better for it.

(BTW, my sweary opus is progressing nicely despite the f**king bugs...)
permalink
03/02/2011 09:40:19

Emily
Emily
(Account inactive)
Posts: 346
ziggy72 wrote:
Thanks! But after you've squashed the bug, could you send it my way so I can jump up and down on it a bit? Won't fix anything, but I'll feel better for it.

As requested, we've re-directed it to your place. Take a look under your fridge, he'll be waiting for you.

ziggy72 wrote:
(BTW, my sweary opus is progressing nicely despite the f**king bugs...)

F***KING A!!
permalink
03/02/2011 11:38:52

glasgowjim
glasgowjim
Posts: 698
Just don't eat any pizza that you find under the cooker, as you might end up with the squits and require a glutinous mix of stringy pharmaceutical chemicals to solidify your innards.

(It's a Theme Hospital reference for those who didn't play mid-'90s games made by Bullfrog)
permalink
19/02/2011 14:13:27

DreekoMuvizu mogulExperimental user
Dreeko
Posts: 1258
Howdy folks!

Dreeko here with another problem/bug
In the scenes I have been working on lately, I have been encountering some very strange behaviour. When I animate a characters head movements and I then try to animate the eyes (lids and pupils)the head movements disappear from the timeline. This is also the case for the reverse.
Is this something which has documented before?
Is there a certain sequence to the animations which has to be adhered to?

Cheers
D
permalink
pages: 1 2 3 4 5 | the topic is closed

Home ? Feedback ? bleeding edge beta and things that made me go hmmn