Messages in this topic - RSS

Home ? Importing Assets ? Help loading video.....

pages: 1 2 | Please log in or register, then complete your details to create a post.
15/01/2017 16:16:04

littlegene
littlegene
Posts: 11
Ive spent the last four hours trying to place a video into a backdrop / tv but to no avail. Please could someone point out to me where i am going wrong. I have converted the video file following older information via xvid, vdub, changed bit rate, etc..When i place them onto a backdrop same result its squashed onto the top third of the backdrop and there is two videos playing ?...Any help would be greatly appreciated Thank you .
permalink
15/01/2017 17:11:32

PatMarrNCMuvizu mogul
PatMarrNC
Posts: 1742
I've given up on this problem, and now I do that sort of thing in the video editor. When I first started using Muvizu, any AVI would load onto a backdrop. Then they changed something in the program and only SOME avis would work. So I got a video format conversion utility and tried all of the AVI versions until I found one that worked, and converted all of my AVIs to that format.

Next time they changed Muvizu, that format didn't work either, and I haven't found a replacement format since.

But I've stopped looking. Doing it in the video editor works 100% of the time, and the editor gives me lots of adjustments and keyframing possibilities too.
permalink
15/01/2017 17:15:48

littlegene
littlegene
Posts: 11
Thank you Pat, by video editor you mean a separate program other than Muvizu ?
permalink
15/01/2017 18:02:16

drewiMuvizu mogulExperimental user
drewi
Posts: 224
Yeah they should fix that back to the way it worked originally to work with xvid, it was great then. such a fun part of muvizu.
ermm ....Du id....err..doo id...um.... do id.
permalink
15/01/2017 19:14:54

PatMarrNCMuvizu mogul
PatMarrNC
Posts: 1742
littlegene wrote:
Thank you Pat, by video editor you mean a separate program other than Muvizu ?


Yes. Most of us don't create our videos from start to finish with only the content generated by Muvizu. We shoot a bunch of separate scenes from a variety of camera angles and with different sets, then we use video editing software to make the scenes tidier (remove dead space etc), add special effects, combine the scenes in whatever order we need, add overlays or composite shots.

A video editor like the free version of HitFilm will let you create a 3D layer, apply a video to it (just as you would use a backdrop in Muvizu) then rotate the layer any way you want, animate its location, size, location, color etc, all independently of the rest of the scene. Even if animated backdrops still worked like they did a year ago, doing it in a video editor gives the director more control.

to use this idea, create your video in Muvizu as usual, and have your character respond to the TV as though there is an AVI playing. Then in your video editor, put your AVI on a separate layer, position it over the TV screen, size it to fit, and you'll have the same look.
permalink
15/01/2017 19:23:01

bigwallyMuvizu mogulExperimental user
bigwally
Posts: 389
I use Xilisoft Ultimate Converter to make my .avi's work in Muvizu. I posted this before, but the person's in then discussions didn't want to know. It works 100% of the time for me, but some of us choose to be difficult.

http://muvizu.com/forum/topic5863-tech-help.aspx?p=f#post32409

You must ignore your instincts and just try it.
edited by bigwally on 15/01/2017
edited by bigwally on 15/01/2017
permalink
16/01/2017 01:42:07

littlegene
littlegene
Posts: 11
Thank you guys
permalink
16/01/2017 10:14:38

drewiMuvizu mogulExperimental user
drewi
Posts: 224
Thanks for the info BigW. Overlooked this route the first time you posted it. Are these sensible settings? i.e. Have i got it right?the output plays ok in a video player but when imported into muvizu onto a backdrop the vid loses resolution clarity on my crate.like the colours break up a bit.still a usable and handy solution in some instances.
edited by drewi on 17/01/2017
permalink
16/01/2017 12:52:58

PatMarrNCMuvizu mogul
PatMarrNC
Posts: 1742
I downloaded and installed it, converted a couple of AVIs, but they still wouldn't play on a backdrop for me. The only AVIs that consistently work for me come from Anime Studio.
permalink
16/03/2017 16:57:21

comictude
comictude
Posts: 32
OK, so count me into the many who wish this adding a video to a backdrop worked.

FYI - So first I went to HitFilm but left without trying it when I saw the price. Then I went to Xilisoft Ultimate Converter and downloaded a free trial and converted a small video to .avi and tried to put it on a backdrop. It didn't work and only showed a small 1/4" line at the bottom of the backdrop.



permalink
16/03/2017 17:59:24

bigwallyMuvizu mogulExperimental user
bigwally
Posts: 389
comictude wrote:
OK, so count me into the many who wish this adding a video to a backdrop worked.

FYI - So first I went to HitFilm but left without trying it when I saw the price. Then I went to Xilisoft Ultimate Converter and downloaded a free trial and converted a small video to .avi and tried to put it on a backdrop. It didn't work and only showed a small 1/4" line at the bottom of the backdrop.


First, choose AVI for your converted video. On the left-hand side of the program, under Profile, click on the Video Codec and a list of codecs will appear. Change this to "Microsoft MPEG-4". Convert.
edited by bigwally on 16/03/2017
permalink
16/03/2017 18:45:52

ukBertyMuvizu mogulExperimental user
ukBerty
Posts: 976
Comictude - HitFilm Express is free and will solve a myriad of problems for you.
permalink
16/03/2017 20:28:48

comictude
comictude
Posts: 32
Thanks, ukBerty. I see now they have an Express version so I'll give it a try.
permalink
16/03/2017 20:38:05

PatMarrNCMuvizu mogul
PatMarrNC
Posts: 1742
FWIW, Comictude.. making sure we're on the same page... I don't think HitFilm generates AVI output that will play on a Muvizu backdrop. (At least, I've never gotten that to work)

I think what UKBerty is advocating is putting video on a layer in HitFilm, then sizing the layer to fill the same visual space that a backdrop would have filled in Muvizu.

disadvantage: you don't get the visual feedback while you're working in Muvizu

advantage: You have more control of positioning and effects in the final stage of production, when you are more likely to want to tweak stuff. To whatever extent you can push stuff out to HitFilm, you gain editing control.

Hope that makes sense.
permalink
16/03/2017 22:09:15

comictude
comictude
Posts: 32
Right, Pat. I understood that. I was watching some video tutorials on HitFilm Express and there is really a lot you can do to spruce up the animations. But I'm thinking adding a video background might be a tad on the complicated side at the moment so will stick to a backdrop with images. But I'm definitely going to check adding some effects in a future animation.

I'm working with both Muvizu and Mine-imator in a combined video and that's why video in the back would have helped but I think I can get by and possibly use some special effects to kick it up a notch.

It would be nice if they someday get that adding an avi file to a backdrop worked out.
permalink
16/03/2017 22:46:33

PatMarrNCMuvizu mogul
PatMarrNC
Posts: 1742
It would be nice if they someday get that adding an avi file to a backdrop worked out.


it does work, but only on a very specific kind of AVI. But yeah, I remember when just about any ol' uncompressed AVI would play on a backdrop. It's a handy feature to have, for sure.
permalink
17/03/2017 16:45:42

RodrisilvaMuvizu mogulExperimental user
Rodrisilva
Posts: 114
PatMarrNC wrote:
It would be nice if they someday get that adding an avi file to a backdrop worked out.


it does work, but only on a very specific kind of AVI. But yeah, I remember when just about any ol' uncompressed AVI would play on a backdrop. It's a handy feature to have, for sure.



After the discussion and the complaints about the difficulties in putting video in backdrops I decided to make this video showing my method.

permalink
17/03/2017 19:20:15

comictude
comictude
Posts: 32
Rodrisilva,

Thanks for posting that. I'm going to give that a try and see how it works. Might not be able to get to it until after weekend as my grandson will be here in a few minutes but I'm bookmarking it.
permalink
18/03/2017 10:23:01

doby
doby
Posts: 22
Rod, Got it to work, but has that washed out look I tried turning the light but it's still washed out any fix for that? (Looks darker before I put it on Muvizu)
edited by doby on 18/03/2017
permalink
18/03/2017 12:46:10

PatMarrNCMuvizu mogul
PatMarrNC
Posts: 1742
I must have ruined all my stock animations by running them through multiple video conversion utilities looking for the pot of AVI gold at the end of the rainbow... VirtulaDub won't even open them anymore. Apparently they've ended up in a format that VDUB doesn't have a codec to unlock. ;-(

Having said that: I have AVIs from prevoius test that were created with Virtual dub,and others that were created with Xilisoft using the settings outlined by Eugene Cheese... and neither worked for me. Must be a driver issue. Seems like it worked until I installed a new graphics card.
permalink
pages: 1 2 | Please log in or register, then complete your details to create a post.

Home ? Importing Assets ? Help loading video.....