Messages in this topic - RSS

Home ? How Do I ...? ? New user - failing to render a basic animation

Please log in or register, then complete your details to create a post.
02/11/2016 07:29:51

spaceace
spaceace
Posts: 4
I have a 3 minute, 2 character animation. Jpeg backdrop. A few actions but very little movement. Attempting a 1280x720 video.

Windows10 32--bit quad core 3.0ghz with 2gb RAM.

1. PNG
SImply does nothing

2. MPEG4
Run sout of memory.............even when asked to run a 30 second chunk

Anyone any ideas where I'm going wrong?
permalink
02/11/2016 07:48:58

MrDrWho13Muvizu mogulExperimental user
MrDrWho13
Posts: 2221
You need a graphics card for Muvizu because it's using the Unreal 3 game engine underneath. It will really struggle if you have a weak GPU or no gpu at all.

If you have a desktop PC, you can add a graphics card. (I would recommend an nvidia gtx750ti or AMD rx460 to get you started.)
edited by MrDrWho13 on 02/11/2016
permalink
02/11/2016 08:05:52

spaceace
spaceace
Posts: 4
MrDrWho13 wrote:
You need a graphics card for Muvizu because it's using the Unreal 3 game engine underneath. It will really struggle if you have a weak GPU or no gpu at all.

If you have a desktop PC, you can add a graphics card. (I would recommend an nvidia gtx750ti or AMD rx460 to get you started.)
edited by MrDrWho13 on 02/11/2016

Thanks. I do have a video card as below. No idea if this is any good these days. What's the prognosis?
Odd thing - just managed to render the video as AVI. Big file, but I have much bigger ones when using Pinnacle.
I'm on DirectX 13 and actually have 4gb of RAM.


Card name: AMD Radeon HD 5570
Manufacturer: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
Chip type: AMD Radeon Graphics Processor (0x68D9)
DAC type: Internal DAC(400MHz)
Device Type: Full Device
Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_68D9&SUBSYS_21E01458&REV_00
Device Status: 0180200A
Device Problem Code: No Problem
Driver Problem Code: Unknown
Display Memory: 2423 MB
Dedicated Memory: 1015 MB
Shared Memory: 1408 MB
Current Mode: 1920 x 1080 (32 bit) (60Hz)
permalink
02/11/2016 09:27:38

MrDrWho13Muvizu mogulExperimental user
MrDrWho13
Posts: 2221
That GPU isn't too bad, but you can see that you're having issues so it might be time to upgrade if you're planning to use Muvizu a lot. I would say the GTX 750ti is the minimum you'd want to use with Muvizu. (Personally I'd go with the newer AMD RX460 because of driver support into the future - and it's the same price as the 750ti)
If you're happy with rendering in AVI as you are then you could continue, but you need to watch out for the 2GB file size limit on the version of avi which Muvizu uses.
According to AMD's site, your GPU supports up to DirectX 11 which is the one Muvizu uses so that should all be fine.

Some of the Muvizu users use cards such as the GTX 970 and GTX 980ti because they're building very complex sets which require the power.
permalink
02/11/2016 10:54:09

spaceace
spaceace
Posts: 4
Thanks for this. I'll only be keeping things basic anyway so should be OK. I can use Pinnacle for the video editing/stitching work so no worries there.
permalink
02/11/2016 14:34:43

ziggy72Muvizu mogulExperimental user
ziggy72
Posts: 1988
The HD 5570 is a media centre type card, not for gaming (and Muvizu is based on a game engine). It has 1gb onboard memory, and is sharing some with the system memory (removing 1.5g of your 4gb RAM). At least 1gb of that RAM is used by windows10, leaving you with 1.5gb to run Muvizu. Your machine is either a small media box or a laptop - either way, it is underpowered to run Muvizu. It'll still work, but it will be slow, so don't expect miracles You can help things a bit by reducing the system display settings to match your movie (1280x720) which will reduce the system load and memory requirements.
permalink
10/11/2016 10:22:38

spaceace
spaceace
Posts: 4
ziggy72 wrote:
The HD 5570 is a media centre type card, not for gaming (and Muvizu is based on a game engine). It has 1gb onboard memory, and is sharing some with the system memory (removing 1.5g of your 4gb RAM). At least 1gb of that RAM is used by windows10, leaving you with 1.5gb to run Muvizu. Your machine is either a small media box or a laptop - either way, it is underpowered to run Muvizu. It'll still work, but it will be slow, so don't expect miracles You can help things a bit by reducing the system display settings to match your movie (1280x720) which will reduce the system load and memory requirements.



Thanks for all the comments. AVI works perfectly and the file sizes are no issue. Ironically I DO have to convert the AVI to mpeg2 before Pinnacle recognizes it but that's fine.
I'm not doing anything fancy. Just creating videos fro my music:
permalink
Please log in or register, then complete your details to create a post.

Home ? How Do I ...? ? New user - failing to render a basic animation