Messages in this topic - RSS

Home ? How Do I ...? ? How do I place things inside a building?

Please log in or register, then complete your details to create a post.
14/10/2016 16:28:29

PatMarrNCMuvizu mogul
PatMarrNC
Posts: 1742
I modelled a house with collision minimized so I can put people inside... but I can't furnish the place because I can only get people past the house's collision. Is there a workaround for this? Or do I just need to model some furniture into the house?


I also notice that when you put a light inside an enclosed space, it doesn't work the way one might expect. I hoped it would light up the inside of the house and shine out through the windows. (but it doesn't)

I could embark on a long research project to see what works, but if anybody knows how to light up the inside of a building, please let me know

------------------------------------------
edited by PatMarrNC on 14/10/2016
permalink
14/10/2016 16:50:50

MrDrWho13Muvizu mogulExperimental user
MrDrWho13
Posts: 2220
Have you tried removing the 4th wall?
permalink
14/10/2016 16:59:19

ikesMuvizu mogul
ikes
Posts: 284
PatMarrNC wrote:
I modelled a house with collision minimized so I can put people inside... but I can't furnish the place because I can only get people past the house's collision. Is there a workaround for this? Or do I just need to model some furniture into the house?


I also notice that when you put a light inside an enclosed space, it doesn't work the way one might expect. I hoped it would light up the inside of the house and shine out through the windows. (but it doesn't)

I could embark on a long research project to see what works, but if anybody knows how to light up the inside of a building, please let me know

------------------------------------------
edited by PatMarrNC on 14/10/2016


Hi Pat,

You can bypass the collision if you add keyframe movement to the objects. Just place a keyframe of every object on frame 0 and possition them in the house.
The lights in muvizu work kind of strange, actually do not work at all in conjunction with objects, the light / shadows goes straight through the walls.
You can check a light to be interior under the shadow tab of the light, but it does not really improve it.
permalink
14/10/2016 17:10:24

PatMarrNCMuvizu mogul
PatMarrNC
Posts: 1742
MrDrWho13 wrote:
Have you tried removing the 4th wall?


not yet.. but it's on my list of things to try if I can't find other workarounds. I notice some of the other members' building models have removable roofs. That wy I guess you can show the whole house when necessary, then for close-ups remove the roof

It might make more sense to build a tri-wall set that's used for inside scenes.

Thanks for the quick reply! You are a very helpful man!
permalink
14/10/2016 17:15:08

PatMarrNCMuvizu mogul
PatMarrNC
Posts: 1742
ikes wrote:
hi Pat,

You can bypass the collision if you add keyframe movement to the objects. Just place a keyframe of every object on frame 0 and possition them in the house.

The lights in muvizu work kind of strange, actually do not work at all in conjunction with objects, the light / shadows goes straight through the walls.

You can check a light to be interior under the shadow tab of the light, but it does not really improve it.


thanks Ikes! Exactly what I needed to get the furniture inside the house!

Also good info about the lights! Thanks for the quick response... I appreciate your help, as always!
Changing the light to an inside light DID accomplish most of what I wanted...

(how did you know that? I haven't seen that in any of the tutorials... )

-------------------------------------------------------
edited by PatMarrNC on 14/10/2016
permalink
14/10/2016 21:52:30

RodrisilvaMuvizu mogulExperimental user
Rodrisilva
Posts: 114
PatMarrNC wrote:
MrDrWho13 wrote:
Have you tried removing the 4th wall?


not yet.. but it's on my list of things to try if I can't find other workarounds. I notice some of the other members' building models have removable roofs. That wy I guess you can show the whole house when necessary, then for close-ups remove the roof

It might make more sense to build a tri-wall set that's used for inside scenes.



Hi Pat

What I usually do (in FBX format) is to put a small cube on the house center as collision. This way you can furnish the house without collision drawnbacks.

See house picture with small collision cube only (blender example).
permalink
15/10/2016 00:46:10

PatMarrNCMuvizu mogul
PatMarrNC
Posts: 1742
I did add a UCX_Collision model to the house Rod... which let me move my character in and out... but it didn't allow the furniture. Happy to report that the trick Ikes suggested (positioning the furniture as keyframed moves) worked like a charm. Apparently the keyframing overrides the collision detection.
permalink
15/10/2016 06:12:37

ukBertyMuvizu mogulExperimental user
ukBerty
Posts: 976
PatMarrNC wrote:
the keyframing overrides the collision detection.


I noticed that, like adding the object as an attachment does. If only we had a button that disabled it for the whole scene, that would have literally saved weeks in my production.

The UCX_Collision box really does work. Two things through - the whole model must be one model (attach in Autodesk, not sure what in Blender) and the name of the collision box must match the name of your one model. So if your house is called "House" then the collision box needs to be called "UCX_House" - I know that sounds obvious, but it took me ages to twig this.
permalink
18/10/2016 17:10:06

PatMarrNCMuvizu mogul
PatMarrNC
Posts: 1742
I haven't tried making everything one object yet.. but thanks for that information. While I'm still in the design phase, keeping a complex set separated into components is really useful. I'll try combining everything into one composite object as the last step.

Which brings me to another question:
I want to make more complex objects with programmable features... like cars/houses with doors that are either open or closed etc. I notice that in order for Muvizu to let me change the visibility state of an object, it must be a standalone object. For example, once the door is merged into the house, I can't make it invisible without making the whole house invisible.

The problem I've been having is that I can't position the door where I need it to be very easily. Maybe I'm having problems because I haven't converted my house to one object yet, which forces me to use keyframing to position my door. Are there good ways to position with keyframing? I haven't found any.. the mouse is imprecise and keyboard positioning commands don't seem to work for keyframing

Maybe if I bite the bullet and merge the rest of the house to a single model, then I can use directing to position the parts. I know there are keyboard movements for directing the movement of objects.

Any insights or advice is greatly appreciated.
permalink
Please log in or register, then complete your details to create a post.

Home ? How Do I ...? ? How do I place things inside a building?