Messages in this topic - RSS

Home ? General Discussion ? ROBOT VOICE SOFTWARE

Please log in or register, then complete your details to create a post.
23/06/2016 16:50:51

PatMarrNCMuvizu mogul
PatMarrNC
Posts: 1742
Since Muvizu has a couple of robot characters, a recurring need for all of us is a way to create robotic voices for the characters. Here is a link to one such product. It has a free version and 3 levels of paid versions.

The free version has one male and one female voice. It will take a text file and convert it to synthesized speech (English). The free version won't save the audio to MP3. I use a 1/8" patch cord between my sound card's speaker jack and mic jack, which lets me record in Audacity whatever is playing thru the speakers

For about $70USD, you can get more voices and the ability to save directly to MP3. The program (even the free version) has a way to speed up the reading and change the pitch. For creating a robot character's dialog, it's pretty useful!

http://www.naturalreaders.com/index.html

If you know of other such resources, especially ones that are completely free, please post links below!
permalink
23/06/2016 16:56:30

MrDrWho13Muvizu mogulExperimental user
MrDrWho13
Posts: 2221
There are some trick to make you sound robotic in audacity itself, but it's not as simple as your solution.

As for recording sound from your computer in audacity, you should be able to do this without using a patch cable. (I don't know if it's common to say 1/8'' in the US but in the UK we usually say 3.5mm jack. Interesting to hear you call it something different )
I'll double check when I get back to my PC but I think you may need to enable it in your windows sound settings.
permalink
23/06/2016 17:16:07

PatMarrNCMuvizu mogul
PatMarrNC
Posts: 1742
MrDrWho13 wrote:

As for recording sound from your computer in audacity, you should be able to do this without using a patch cable. (I don't know if it's common to say 1/8'' in the US but in the UK we usually say 3.5mm jack. Interesting to hear you call it something different )

it is equally common in the USA to refer to just about everything in inches or millimeters. I'm old and set in my ways, so I still use the imperial scale most of the time.

I'll double check when I get back to my PC but I think you may need to enable it in your windows sound settings.

That would be awesome (and greatly appreciated!)

In windows XP there was a WHAT YOU HEAR setting, but that seems to have vanished with the newer versions of Windows.. at least I haven't discovered how to duplicate that feature in Windows 10 yet.
permalink
23/06/2016 18:01:49

MrDrWho13Muvizu mogulExperimental user
MrDrWho13
Posts: 2221
If you change the recording device to WASAPI and choose your speakers then it should record the output of your computer. (For me the default was MME)

In Windows 7 I think you need to go in to the Windows sound settings to enable it, but it seems to work in Windows 10 for me where I haven't touched those settings.
permalink
23/06/2016 18:31:33

Rocque
Rocque
Posts: 359
MrDrWho13 wrote:
If you change the recording device to WASAPI and choose your speakers then it should record the output of your computer. (For me the default was MME)

In Windows 7 I think you need to go in to the Windows sound settings to enable it, but it seems to work in Windows 10 for me where I haven't touched those settings.



All those recordings I have made by pointing my mic to my speakers might not have to be done anymore? I am going to see if I have those settings on my computer and audacity. In audacity i only have Windows Dire (which is short for something, and MME). I could not find anything named WASAPI. I have Audacity 2.0.0 (Unicode). Does it need to be updated?

It would be great to be able to record from the speakers.
permalink
23/06/2016 18:36:50

ikesMuvizu mogul
ikes
Posts: 287
Rocque wrote:
MrDrWho13 wrote:
If you change the recording device to WASAPI and choose your speakers then it should record the output of your computer. (For me the default was MME)

In Windows 7 I think you need to go in to the Windows sound settings to enable it, but it seems to work in Windows 10 for me where I haven't touched those settings.



All those recordings I have made by pointing my mic to my speakers might not have to be done anymore? I am going to see if I have those settings on my computer and audacity. In audacity i only have Windows Dire (which is short for something, and MME). I could not find anything named WASAPI. I have Audacity 2.0.0 (Unicode). Does it need to be updated?

It would be great to be able to record from the speakers.


Hi Rocque,

You can enable the stereo mix. Take a look here for some solutions:
http://www.howtogeek.com/217348/how-to-record-the-sound-coming-from-your-pc-even-without-stereo-mix/
permalink
23/06/2016 19:16:43

Rocque
Rocque
Posts: 359
I just had to update my Audacity for it to work. Thanks everyone. I now have Audacity 2.1.2 installed. My configuration on Audacity has Windows Wasabi, then the next box is Speakers, then Stereo, and then Speakers if you use MDW13's image for the guideline. This is going to be a huge time saver.

Thanks again.
permalink
23/06/2016 20:15:11

PatMarrNCMuvizu mogul
PatMarrNC
Posts: 1742
MrDrWho13 wrote:
If you change the recording device to WASAPI and choose your speakers then it should record the output of your computer. (For me the default was MME)

In Windows 7 I think you need to go in to the Windows sound settings to enable it, but it seems to work in Windows 10 for me where I haven't touched those settings.



Awesome! Thanks! Worked like a charm!

This has been one of those days in which the forum worked like a cumulative intellect, with somebody knowing and revealing key information that was keeping somebody else bogged down!

I really appreciate the fact that everyone in this forum is so generous with their knowledge. This day has been a major step forward for me. Thanks to everybody involved in today's discussions!

I wonder if BRAJ still reads the forum... I think he'd be interested in the stuff that was discussed today...


regarding the software mentioned in this thread... now that everybody knows how to record & save whatever audio is coming out of the speakers, the free version is a no-brainer!
edited by PatMarrNC on 24/06/2016
permalink
25/06/2016 14:04:06

PatMarrNCMuvizu mogul
PatMarrNC
Posts: 1742
regarding the sound of the robot voice program:

If you need a cowboy accent, you can get different results based on the way you spell the words. Sometimes nonsense syllables can yield interesting pronunciations.

Also, purposefully using more words like "tarnation", "yayhoo" and "Varmint" etc can make the point that he's a tex-bot as opposed to a yankee-bot
permalink
Please log in or register, then complete your details to create a post.

Home ? General Discussion ? ROBOT VOICE SOFTWARE