Messages in this topic - RSS

Home ? How Do I ...? ? How do I transition over to a new computer?

Please log in or register, then complete your details to create a post.
20/06/2016 00:27:08

Rocque
Rocque
Posts: 359
Yay, I did it. I received a bonus on my day job, and used it to get a graphics friendly computer. Hopefully the days of 50 minutes to render 15 seconds will be gone now. That is the good part.

The bad part is that I need to get all my files over to the new computer and get Muvizu to recognize that I have really paid for my subscription. Maybe I should put in a support ticket for the second part. Some of you have been here for a long time. What did you do when you upgraded your computer?
permalink
20/06/2016 03:05:55

PatMarrNCMuvizu mogul
PatMarrNC
Posts: 1742
Congratulations on the new computer! May I ask what you got? Ram and processor?
permalink
20/06/2016 03:28:20

Rocque
Rocque
Posts: 359
I am the proud owner of an Intel i7-6700 CPU @3.40 GHz, 8.00 Ram ( I am not sure if I will need more than that yet), the 64-bit OS, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970 and an Intel(R) HD Graphics 530. It should help make Muvizu and other sites work better for me.

I just went into the program files on my laptop and copied Muvizu over. Maybe it will work. I need to bring my sets over, too.
permalink
20/06/2016 07:20:56

MrDrWho13Muvizu mogulExperimental user
MrDrWho13
Posts: 2220
Congrats on your new bonus/PC!
I think the Intel graphics get cancelled out when you have a graphics card but that's ok because they're pretty bad anyway.
The GTX 970 is very powerful and I believe Ziggy and Berty both use this for Muvizu.

You Muvizu licence is tied to your computer's MAC address which is the unique identifier given to the WiFi or Ethernet card inside the computer. If you licence does not activate automatically you'll need to contact support. It's probably best to install Muvizu fresh from the site rather than copying the files over. The favourites are saved somewhere else on your computer but I'm not sure where so it's probably best to ask support about that too.

8GB of RAM should be enough. Out of curiosity, do you have an SSD?
permalink
20/06/2016 13:56:10

Rocque
Rocque
Posts: 359
Out of curiosity, do you have an SSD?
Yes I do have an SSD. I have been waiting 5 years to have a good computer, so I am happy with this one so far.
Jamie and I are emailing back and forth so that I can get my subscription back to Muvizu. It won't accept my license key.
I have tried uninstalling and reinstalling Muvizu. I think the last time I had this trouble a reboot fixed it, so I will attempt that, too.
permalink
21/06/2016 03:46:28

Rocque
Rocque
Posts: 359
I am still waiting on support to figure out why I am not having access to my subscription to Muvizu. Jamie and I exchanged several emails this morning and then he had to take it to a higher level. I have so much to do for the contest entry that I am rethinking my entry. I guess I can work on other things for now.
permalink
Please log in or register, then complete your details to create a post.

Home ? How Do I ...? ? How do I transition over to a new computer?