Messages in this topic - RSS

Home ? How Do I ...? ? ASE plugin

pages: 1 2 | Please log in or register, then complete your details to create a post.
29/02/2016 19:45:35

Johan
Johan
Posts: 31
Hi there,

Despite all detailed info and procedures and links given on this forum by various Muvizu'ers, I'm not able to bring the ASE plugin on the right place in sketchup 2016.

First, I tried sketchup 8. Yes the plugin is in the right place. It is visible as a tool, ... but I can't enter the 3D warehouse, that's is blocked by Trimble. Starting with version 2013.

So, next sketchup 2016 pro, trial version installed. Tried to copy the ASE plugin into the plugin folder mentioned under:

C:\users\myname\appdata\roaming\sketchup\sketchup2016\sketchup\plugins

Upon restart, sketchup 2016 keeps saying that there is something wrong. The ASe plugin is not shown.

Obviously, sketchup changed the location or something like that, for this plugin. But where? How?

How to fix this?
Johan
permalink
29/02/2016 19:55:25

MrDrWho13Muvizu mogulExperimental user
MrDrWho13
Posts: 2221
If you want to keep using Sketchup 8, you can use the web version of the warehouse and import from there: https://3dwarehouse.sketchup.com/?hl=en

However, for newer versions, there's this guide:

https://www.muvizu.com/Wiki/wiki/170/installing-plugins-to-newer-versions-of-sketchup


Unfortunately you can't use the Ziggymesh exporter for this method.


If you still can't get it working with sketchup 2016, then come back and I'll try it and potentially poke the more experienced moguls.
edited by MrDrWho13 on 29/02/2016
permalink
29/02/2016 20:14:15

ukBertyMuvizu mogulExperimental user
ukBerty
Posts: 976
Johan,

As MDW suggests - I still use Sketchup 8 with my ZiggyMesh plugin and just use the Warehouse outside of Sketchup - it's no big deal.

I may get round to re-engineering the plug-in for later versions of Sketchup.... but there's just so much else to do....

Cheers, Berty
permalink
29/02/2016 21:07:57

Johan
Johan
Posts: 31
Nobody can keep up with the speed of changing software, isn't it? Even the tutorials of sketchup2016 are behind, ... Duhh

Next try out, now.
Johan
permalink
29/02/2016 21:11:07

Johan
Johan
Posts: 31
MDW, I'm sorry, but the wiki link you gave, functions only for sketchup 2015.
Johan
permalink
29/02/2016 21:40:49

braj
braj
Posts: 286
I wish there were an ASE exporter for Blender that worked with the latest builds. Muvizu gives more options on import for ASE than FBX, like forcing double-sided normals, which is incredibly handy. It is bewildering how to get it to work consistently with FBX, there seems some magic faeries live inside Blender that decide when it will work or not.
permalink
01/03/2016 14:51:36

PatMarrNCMuvizu mogul
PatMarrNC
Posts: 1742
ASE is apparently a format that originated with Autodesk's 3ds max, which is wayy out of my price range. However, they offer a free 3 year license to students. People who are indeed students apparently get the free license then resell it on Ebay, because you can always find new unopened boxed versions of the educational version there.

I've considered signing up for any ol' class at the local community college so I'd have proof of student status, just so I could get the free 3 year license. I have to wonder if the original implementation of the file format saves faster.

I really like the smoothing of low-poly surfaces that happens automatically in ASE files, as well as the additional import options. Its only disadvantage to me is the save time... and I figure that's mostly because its a plugin.

Anybody out there who owns 3DS MAX and has used it to save in ASE format? I seem to recall Clayster saying he has it... what is the save time for ASE?
permalink
01/03/2016 14:52:53

PatMarrNCMuvizu mogul
PatMarrNC
Posts: 1742
braj wrote:
I wish there were an ASE exporter for Blender that worked with the latest builds. Muvizu gives more options on import for ASE than FBX, like forcing double-sided normals, which is incredibly handy. It is bewildering how to get it to work consistently with FBX, there seems some magic faeries live inside Blender that decide when it will work or not.


what Blender build stopped supporting their ASE exporter? And I wonder if that build can still be found anywhere?
permalink
01/03/2016 15:25:49

PatMarrNCMuvizu mogul
PatMarrNC
Posts: 1742
Johan wrote:
MDW, I'm sorry, but the wiki link you gave, functions only for sketchup 2015.
Johan


if you are using the same version of the ASE exporter that worked in Sketchup 8, it won't work. You need a different version of the plugin for the later versions of Sketchup.

Try this version:
http://www.muvizu.com/download/muvizuaseexporter.rb
permalink
01/03/2016 18:41:06

ukBertyMuvizu mogulExperimental user
ukBerty
Posts: 976
PatMarrNC wrote:
Anybody out there who owns 3DS MAX and has used it to save in ASE format?


That's me. It takes longer to export an ASE from 3DS MAX than it does to export an FBX, but it's bearable.

You then have to add the ZiggyMesh manually (or automatically... http://www.muvizu.com/forum/topic5438-importing-assets.aspx?p=f#post28931 )

I use a mixture of FBX and ASE now depending on what's going to work - as you know Muvizu is very picky.
permalink
01/03/2016 18:49:53

urbanlamb
urbanlamb
(Account inactive)
Posts: 1796
PatMarrNC wrote:
braj wrote:
I wish there were an ASE exporter for Blender that worked with the latest builds. Muvizu gives more options on import for ASE than FBX, like forcing double-sided normals, which is incredibly handy. It is bewildering how to get it to work consistently with FBX, there seems some magic faeries live inside Blender that decide when it will work or not.


what Blender build stopped supporting their ASE exporter? And I wonder if that build can still be found anywhere?


ASE is not used anymore its quite old, but there is a blender ase exporter and it likely still works but unreal switched to fbx a long time ago (mid way into unreal 3 they started switching over) so its no longer used because its well not supported by 99.999% of engines out there. That is why muvizu now has fbx
edited by urbanlamb on 01/03/2016
permalink
01/03/2016 19:09:05

braj
braj
Posts: 286
OK, how about this: please include more FBX import options, particularly double sided normals. It is just incredibly helpful when working with props, anything to make getting stuff into Muvizu, the better.
permalink
01/03/2016 20:28:26

PatMarrNCMuvizu mogul
PatMarrNC
Posts: 1742
urbanlamb wrote:

ASE is not used anymore its quite old, but there is a blender ase exporter and it likely still works


I downloaded and installed the ASE exporter for Blender, but never could get it to work.
permalink
02/03/2016 14:31:27

urbanlamb
urbanlamb
(Account inactive)
Posts: 1796
PatMarrNC wrote:
urbanlamb wrote:

ASE is not used anymore its quite old, but there is a blender ase exporter and it likely still works


I downloaded and installed the ASE exporter for Blender, but never could get it to work.




I just tested it and it still works.




pardon the asset i am working on something and just picked any old thing ...

here is the link make sure to download the most recent one 2.51

https://code.google.com/archive/p/ase-export-vmc/downloads

uncheck use submaterials and leave in allow multiple materials. you can triangulate before or ask it to do it for you. I used to triangulate before and uncheck that box. Works perfectly make sure to add a material to the collission box you add but no texture.
permalink
02/03/2016 14:49:20

PatMarrNCMuvizu mogul
PatMarrNC
Posts: 1742
urbanlamb wrote:


I just tested it and it still works.


hmmm.. I must be doing something wrong then


here is the link make sure to download the most recent one 2.51

https://code.google.com/archive/p/ase-export-vmc/downloads

that's the version I installed....

uncheck use submaterials and leave in allow multiple materials. you can triangulate before or ask it to do it for you. I used to triangulate before and uncheck that box. Works perfectly make sure to add a material to the collission box you add but no texture.


this must be where I'm losing it. I'll give it another try. Thanks for taking time to help me through yet another learning curve...
permalink
02/03/2016 19:25:46

braj
braj
Posts: 286
In Blender 2.76 I'm still getting py script errors.
permalink
02/03/2016 21:43:20

braj
braj
Posts: 286
Is collision the same as when using FBX? You use the UCX_ prefix?
permalink
03/03/2016 00:19:55

urbanlamb
urbanlamb
(Account inactive)
Posts: 1796
yes its all the same. It works just check the script window the "errors" are probably messages telling you what is wrong with the model.
permalink
03/03/2016 18:28:56

PatMarrNCMuvizu mogul
PatMarrNC
Posts: 1742
urbanlamb wrote:
yes its all the same. It works just check the script window the "errors" are probably messages telling you what is wrong with the model.


I started with the cube that automatically appears when you start blender. I figure blender should like its geometry, since it created it.

Then I tried to export it as ASE. Didn't work, and error message suggests its because I didn't apply a material or create a UV map. (I don't know Blender well enough to do either of those things in that environment)

So next I imported a cube from Silo that DID have a material applied and UVMap created. Still failed to export as ASE.

I wish Blender was made the way I think. It is a very cool and powerful program that is perhaps the most un-intuitive software I've ever tried to use. ;-(
permalink
03/03/2016 19:10:33

braj
braj
Posts: 286
Blender is actually not very hard, as easy as Sketchup IMO, just watch a video or two on setting up materials and textures. IMO after using a bunch of software, Blender actually can be more intuitive once you get the hang of things. FWIW I use a mod called Sensei Format that makes it more manageable for me. The dev for that has a whole series of clear videos on how to use Blender while running the mod, it is top notch IMO, and free.

https://blendersensei.com/

I still need to figure out ASE export when I have a chance.
permalink
pages: 1 2 | Please log in or register, then complete your details to create a post.

Home ? How Do I ...? ? ASE plugin