Messages in this topic - RSS

Home ? How Do I ...? ? How to install ase exporter in sketchup!

Please log in or register, then complete your details to create a post.
19/12/2015 17:01:37

roland1963
roland1963
Posts: 34
HI,

I am trying to create an object, and I downloaded Sketch up. However to export to ASE format, you need the exporter.

However, I read the link http://www.muvizu.com/Wiki/wiki/57/import-objects-ase-importing-to-muvizu-from-sketchup

However, on this link, the gentleman gives a link to download some kind of .rb file to use to export as ASE file but he does not say how to install it,neither where!
He says to click on the link but alll what you get is a .rb file and no more instructions!Whaaaaa?

So I am left with useless stuff...

Does anybody know what to do with this.rb file he says to download to be able to export to Ase?

Thanks in advance

I am using Windows 8...

Roland
permalink
19/12/2015 17:21:32

MrDrWho13Muvizu mogulExperimental user
MrDrWho13
Posts: 2221
You need to be using sketchup 8.
http://www.rodneyandberty.com/downloads/
The instructions are in that link.
edited by MrDrWho13 on 19/12/2015
permalink
19/12/2015 17:39:50

PatMarrNCMuvizu mogul
PatMarrNC
Posts: 1742
from Sketchup's help center:
The Extension Warehouse and SketchUp were made to work together. In most cases, to add an extension on your local copy of SketchUp, you simply click the Install button on the extension details page and wait a moment while the software does the rest of the work.


on my windows 8 machine, the install path is as follows:
c:\users\your name\appdata\roaming\sketchup\sketchup 2015\sketchup\plugins\muvizuaseexporter.rb

If you manually place the file there, you'll probably have to change your permissions to see those directories. By default, I think some of them are not visible
permalink
19/12/2015 17:42:38

clayster2012Muvizu mogul
clayster2012
Posts: 651
Sometimes I use 3d milkshape, it imports 3ds, obj, fbx, and some others, it also exports ASE formats, you can get it the free trial to us to export your objects, http://milkshape3d.com/ the version I use 1.8.5 it has the ASE exporter, Im sure there are some earlier versions that also has the exporter.
permalink
19/12/2015 19:12:28

roland1963
roland1963
Posts: 34
MrDrWho13 wrote:
You need to be using sketchup 8.
http://www.rodneyandberty.com/downloads/
The instructions are in that link.
edited by MrDrWho13 on 19/12/2015


I already downloaded this stuff... The path mentioned in the link, ie, (c:\program files(x86)\Google\Google Sketchup8\Plugins),

is incorrect with Windows 8...
permalink
19/12/2015 19:16:47

roland1963
roland1963
Posts: 34
PatMarrNC wrote:
from Sketchup's help center:
The Extension Warehouse and SketchUp were made to work together. In most cases, to add an extension on your local copy of SketchUp, you simply click the Install button on the extension details page and wait a moment while the software does the rest of the work.


on my windows 8 machine, the install path is as follows:
c:\users\your name\appdata\roaming\sketchup\sketchup 2015\sketchup\plugins\muvizuaseexporter.rb

If you manually place the file there, you'll probably have to change your permissions to see those directories. By default, I think some of them are not visible


I get absolutely no Install button...When I click on the link, it just downloads this .rb file and nothing else, no application whatsoever...

Nothing is relevant to what is going on on my Windows 8 on those links...

I will try your path, install the .rb file and will see what goes on...

Roland
permalink
19/12/2015 19:46:56

MrDrWho13Muvizu mogulExperimental user
MrDrWho13
Posts: 2221
roland1963 wrote:
MrDrWho13 wrote:
You need to be using sketchup 8.
http://www.rodneyandberty.com/downloads/
The instructions are in that link.
edited by MrDrWho13 on 19/12/2015


I already downloaded this stuff... The path mentioned in the link, ie, (c:\program files(x86)\Google\Google Sketchup8\Plugins),

is incorrect with Windows 8...

The operating system shouldn't affect the installation path at all.
Are you sure you're using google sketchup 8? I have a download link for it here if you need it:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B-_4UVPr59ACNjBQSTNYRjNwQkE/view?usp=sharing
permalink
19/12/2015 19:49:15

roland1963
roland1963
Posts: 34
Nothing is working...

The only path I got is c:\program files(x86)\Sketchup\Sketchup2016\ifcplugin

I tried copying the .rb file in there... but then, after restarting Sketchup, I have no Plugins in the Tools tab.

I tried going into Export tab to try to do something. When I export in 3D, there is no ASE options but fbx and others.

As far as any PlugIn Tab n the tool bar, it is absent as well...

This is called Enigma!
permalink
19/12/2015 19:52:17

MrDrWho13Muvizu mogulExperimental user
MrDrWho13
Posts: 2221
roland1963 wrote:
Nothing is working...

The only path I got is c:\program files(x86)\Sketchup\Sketchup2016\ifcplugin

I tried copying the .rb file in there... but then, after restarting Sketchup, I have no Plugins in the Tools tab.

I tried going into Export tab to try to do something. When I export in 3D, there is no ASE options but fbx and others.

As far as any PlugIn Tab n the tool bar, it is absent as well...

This is called Enigma!

That'll be because you're using sketchup 2016 not sketchup 8.
When you install sketchup 8, the file directory will be as it says on the page, and the exporter will appear under the "plugins" tab.

If you really want to keep using your sketchup version, you could try moving the .rb file to this location:
PatMarrNC wrote:
on my windows 8 machine, the install path is as follows:
c:\users\your name\appdata\roaming\sketchup\sketchup 2015\sketchup\plugins\muvizuaseexporter.rb

If you manually place the file there, you'll probably have to change your permissions to see those directories. By default, I think some of them are not visible

edited by MrDrWho13 on 19/12/2015
permalink
20/12/2015 10:31:52

roland1963
roland1963
Posts: 34
MrDrWho13 wrote:
roland1963 wrote:
MrDrWho13 wrote:
You need to be using sketchup 8.
http://www.rodneyandberty.com/downloads/
The instructions are in that link.
edited by MrDrWho13 on 19/12/2015


I already downloaded this stuff... The path mentioned in the link, ie, (c:\program files(x86)\Google\Google Sketchup8\Plugins),

is incorrect with Windows 8...

The operating system shouldn't affect the installation path at all.
Are you sure you're using google sketchup 8? I have a download link for it here if you need it:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B-_4UVPr59ACNjBQSTNYRjNwQkE/view?usp=sharing


Well, I installed via the link you provided. It gives SketchUp 2016... Not 8...Maybe it is the same thing, it does not says..

BUT the version given in your link is 32 bits and Windows 8 is 64 bits...Maybe this has something to do with it...I guess it should not but..never know...

I will try the sharing link and see how it goes...
permalink
20/12/2015 10:40:19

roland1963
roland1963
Posts: 34
MrDrWho13 wrote:
roland1963 wrote:
Nothing is working...

The only path I got is c:\program files(x86)\Sketchup\Sketchup2016\ifcplugin

I tried copying the .rb file in there... but then, after restarting Sketchup, I have no Plugins in the Tools tab.

I tried going into Export tab to try to do something. When I export in 3D, there is no ASE options but fbx and others.

As far as any PlugIn Tab n the tool bar, it is absent as well...

This is called Enigma!

That'll be because you're using sketchup 2016 not sketchup 8.
When you install sketchup 8, the file directory will be as it says on the page, and the exporter will appear under the "plugins" tab.

If you really want to keep using your sketchup version, you could try moving the .rb file to this location:
PatMarrNC wrote:
on my windows 8 machine, the install path is as follows:
c:\users\your name\appdata\roaming\sketchup\sketchup 2015\sketchup\plugins\muvizuaseexporter.rb

If you manually place the file there, you'll probably have to change your permissions to see those directories. By default, I think some of them are not visible

edited by MrDrWho13 on 19/12/2015


Yes,but the link you give (ie; http://www.rodneyandberty.com/downloads/) does not give Sketchup 8 but 2016 so you should update it or remove it...The name of the exe file is SketchUpMake-en, not SketchUp 8

I'll try again with the new link and keep you posted.

Roland
permalink
20/12/2015 11:03:33

MrDrWho13Muvizu mogulExperimental user
MrDrWho13
Posts: 2221
roland1963 wrote:
MrDrWho13 wrote:
roland1963 wrote:
Nothing is working...

The only path I got is c:\program files(x86)\Sketchup\Sketchup2016\ifcplugin

I tried copying the .rb file in there... but then, after restarting Sketchup, I have no Plugins in the Tools tab.

I tried going into Export tab to try to do something. When I export in 3D, there is no ASE options but fbx and others.

As far as any PlugIn Tab n the tool bar, it is absent as well...

This is called Enigma!

That'll be because you're using sketchup 2016 not sketchup 8.
When you install sketchup 8, the file directory will be as it says on the page, and the exporter will appear under the "plugins" tab.

If you really want to keep using your sketchup version, you could try moving the .rb file to this location:
PatMarrNC wrote:
on my windows 8 machine, the install path is as follows:
c:\users\your name\appdata\roaming\sketchup\sketchup 2015\sketchup\plugins\muvizuaseexporter.rb

If you manually place the file there, you'll probably have to change your permissions to see those directories. By default, I think some of them are not visible

edited by MrDrWho13 on 19/12/2015


Yes,but the link you give (ie; http://www.rodneyandberty.com/downloads/) does not give Sketchup 8 but 2016 so you should update it or remove it...The name of the exe file is SketchUpMake-en, not SketchUp 8

I'll try again with the new link and keep you posted.

Roland

The rodneyandberty link is the plugin only. The Google drive link is sketch up 8
permalink
20/12/2015 11:46:31

roland1963
roland1963
Posts: 34
MrDrWho13 wrote:
roland1963 wrote:
MrDrWho13 wrote:
roland1963 wrote:
Nothing is working...

The only path I got is c:\program files(x86)\Sketchup\Sketchup2016\ifcplugin

I tried copying the .rb file in there... but then, after restarting Sketchup, I have no Plugins in the Tools tab.

I tried going into Export tab to try to do something. When I export in 3D, there is no ASE options but fbx and others.

As far as any PlugIn Tab n the tool bar, it is absent as well...

This is called Enigma!

That'll be because you're using sketchup 2016 not sketchup 8.
When you install sketchup 8, the file directory will be as it says on the page, and the exporter will appear under the "plugins" tab.

If you really want to keep using your sketchup version, you could try moving the .rb file to this location:
PatMarrNC wrote:
on my windows 8 machine, the install path is as follows:
c:\users\your name\appdata\roaming\sketchup\sketchup 2015\sketchup\plugins\muvizuaseexporter.rb

If you manually place the file there, you'll probably have to change your permissions to see those directories. By default, I think some of them are not visible

edited by MrDrWho13 on 19/12/2015


Yes,but the link you give (ie; http://www.rodneyandberty.com/downloads/) does not give Sketchup 8 but 2016 so you should update it or remove it...The name of the exe file is SketchUpMake-en, not SketchUp 8

I'll try again with the new link and keep you posted.

Roland

The rodneyandberty link is the plugin only. The Google drive link is sketch up 8


Yes, but when I went on Muvizu, on this link http://www.muvizu.com/Wiki/wiki/57/import-objects-ase-importing-to-muvizu-from-sketchup,

where I downloaded everything, the link he mentions for Google SketchUP, does not give SketchUp but SketchUpMake-en...

This is where the mistake is on this link... Your sharing link works...
permalink
20/12/2015 11:51:19

MrDrWho13Muvizu mogulExperimental user
MrDrWho13
Posts: 2221
OK thanks for the heads up, I'll check that later.
permalink
Please log in or register, then complete your details to create a post.

Home ? How Do I ...? ? How to install ase exporter in sketchup!