Messages in this topic - RSS

Home ? Tech Help ? Failed to load object from file

pages: 1 2 3 4 5 | Please log in or register, then complete your details to create a post.
10/12/2015 10:19:26

ritsmer
ritsmer
Posts: 110
Now I have been busily learning and trying-out Muvizu for some weeks for a mixed Animated and Human world project.

Yesterday I finally started to work seriously for the project - but since then it has been really "up hill":

Instead of using time to work with the characters and objects nearly all the time has been spent reading error messages like:

- There was an error loading the scene. Failed to load object from file. (and the Muvizu also gave this error for a backup-set it could open before - so I had to go back 2 backups - which I did - but now, after an hour of redoing my work the error happens again) and

- (something like) Cannot save the set. Unknown error. (means: discard my work, start from last backup if Muvizu wants to open it without the above error message)

The set I am working with has got: 1 camera only, 1 character only and 1 object only - and I am within the first 15 seconds of simple movements and head-and-eyes-directions...

My Muvizu version from the about box is: MZASS-v1.6 - build 2015.11.17.01R (64-bit)
permalink
10/12/2015 11:22:18

MrDrWho13Muvizu mogulExperimental user
MrDrWho13
Posts: 2221
The failed to load object from file is a common bug they're fixing at the moment, but the failed to save is something I haven't seen in any recent versions. You might want to send the set in for them to look at: http://www.muvizu.com/Support
permalink
10/12/2015 14:18:56

ritsmer
ritsmer
Posts: 110
I have sent the set and the DXdiag info through the required "digimania zendisk" way and hope that support received it.

It would be quite understandable if such an error could occur with some non standard third-party imported objects.

In this set, however, there is only one single object: a simple cube from Muvizu's own Create - Abstract - Cube.

It does make me kinda afraid that such an ultra simple thing now has totally stalled any further development of my project until next Muvizu update - whenever that will be - and if it cures the issue.
edited by ritsmer on 10/12/2015
permalink
10/12/2015 16:17:59

ziggy72Muvizu mogulExperimental user
ziggy72
Posts: 1988
Ritsmer, your problem stems from the simple fact that Muvizu says 'there's a new version available, do you want to download it?' Your answer is yes, when it should be NO. There is no warning (on that little popup screen) to tell you that you are beta testing the new version - v1.6, in this case, which has issues. v1.5 is the last stable working version, and is what I use and will continue to use until the next version is fixed. When a new version is released, download it separately and install it in a different directory than your previous version. If you want to load an old set into the new version, save that set as a NEW copy so you don't corrupt your set file with any glitches the new version may have. This is the only way to safely use Muvizu when it's going through it's development cycle, as we all have discovered.

You can find the download link for v1.5 here : http://www.muvizu.com/forum/topic5260-tech-help.aspx?p=f#post27938

It doesn't support the Keyframe addon, and you have to use mono 16bit audio files to stop it truncating your mp3s, but other than that it works great. Delete all traces of the current version from your machine before you install the older version, and start your sets again.
permalink
10/12/2015 16:52:48

ritsmer
ritsmer
Posts: 110
Support kindly tells me that a new update for the 1.6 version is expected next week - so I will wait and restart from there.

If the issue persists, however, then I will go back to last stable 1.5.1 - hoping it will recognize my saved favorites etc. from 1.6

If not - then I do have something for my Santa wish list :- )
edited by ritsmer on 10/12/2015
permalink
13/12/2015 14:52:05

imyourda
imyourda
Posts: 55
The failed to load object from file seems to hit randomly. I just had it appear in a set I've saved and loaded multiple times since this error was pointed out. Really looking forward to this patch.
permalink
16/12/2015 21:28:13

zadecat
zadecat
Posts: 19
i thought it was fixed, but today i encountered "there was an error loading the scene. failed to load object from file".
i'm at update 2015.11.17.01R(64-bit). this update was supposed to have fixed the problem... stan
permalink
16/12/2015 21:33:08

MrDrWho13Muvizu mogulExperimental user
MrDrWho13
Posts: 2221
zadecat wrote:
i thought it was fixed, but today i encountered "there was an error loading the scene. failed to load object from file".
i'm at update 2015.11.17.01R(64-bit). this update was supposed to have fixed the problem... stan

No, this update is the one with the problem, I can give you the links for previous versions if needed, or you can wait for the new version (Apparently coming this week)
permalink
16/12/2015 22:51:43

zadecat
zadecat
Posts: 19
i was at 2015.11.10.01R when i was having the original problem. then i told to download 2015.11.17.01R that the problem was fixed in that version. the problem disappeared until today. i don't think your QC is what it should be. in any event let me know when i need to update again. thx...stan
permalink
17/12/2015 07:14:58

MrDrWho13Muvizu mogulExperimental user
MrDrWho13
Posts: 2221
Ah ok, I don't have any notes on the Nov 10 version since I skipped it.
Here is 2015.09.22.01R - the most recent stable version:
https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B-_4UVPr59ACVV9EZWZCMzdQSlk
Here's 2015.11.07.01R - Which, in theory, shouldn't have this problem but does have bugs directing head movement.
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B-_4UVPr59ACWnNNYWtYRDNDWFE

I'll post in this thread when there's an update if I remember.
permalink
17/12/2015 13:40:32

zadecat
zadecat
Posts: 19
thx for the links. i'll wait for the newest version. let me know when it's released.
permalink
19/12/2015 06:59:11

winini33
winini33
Posts: 4
Hello,

Last week I open a support ticket, to report this problem: "Failed to load object from file".
The support told me that this bug is known, and that the next release, scheduled for this weekend, should fix this bug.

As I was late, I restart my work with great care.
Today I am still stuck with this bug.
My job is unusable, and I feel like I'm wasting my time.

Here's what I found:

- My setup: Windows 10 (64), I5, 8GB, GTX750, Muvizu 2015.11.17.01R_x64.
- I restart with a new installation, and an empty stage.
- I add only the objects supplied with Muvizu (no imported objects of Sketchup).
- I have divided my work into smaller scenes.
- I make multiple backup of these little scenes.

Today, over 10 sets recorded in the week, there are only the first two, which can be opened.
The others are blocked with this error: "Failed to load object from file".

As you suggest in this post, I tried with earlier versions of Muvizu:

- The 2015.09.22.01R_x64 version does not open my files. Error: "This file was created with a newer version."
- The 2015.11.07.01R_x64 version does not open my files. Error: "Failed to load object from file").
- Tested with DirectX 11 and 9 (idem)
- I also tested with my lang (French) and in English (the result is the same).

I was planning a lot of project with this software, but am desperate.

Here are my ideas to improve Muvizu, you may be able to add this:
- Option to force the loading of a file, without loading the defective objects.
- Testing objects at the time to add them to the scene.
- I also have other ideas for improving the use, but I would speak in the corresponding post.

I'm listening to all good ideas that could save my defective files.

Thanks for your help (and sorry for this bad english by Google).
permalink
19/12/2015 09:15:18

ritsmer
ritsmer
Posts: 110
THANK YOU winini33 !

Desperate for getting on with my project - stalled by the Muvizu Object load error for over a week now - I tried to follow your idea and changed Muvizu to use to Directx 9. Then saved this and closed Muvizu.

Then, just to be sure that my Windows 7 had not cached anything, I rebooted the PC - and voila: The sets that I could not open before now opens nicely - (so it seems, for now, that is).

Edit: I have now added this to my support ticket about this issue.


More edit: Got the Object error now again - it seems kind of random which sets I can open and which ones give the object error.
edited by ritsmer on 19/12/2015
permalink
20/12/2015 04:07:50

PatMarrNCMuvizu mogul
PatMarrNC
Posts: 1742
Add my name to the list of people whose projects are stalled by this error.

I don't know if it's significant, but the last thing I did before the problem started was this:
I wanted to delete one of my characters actions, but I went brain dead and instead of "right-click > delete" I pressed the keyboard's delete button, which effectively deleted ALL that character's actions .. and the character too. Seems like maybe something more benign could be programmed to happen when the delete key is pressed.... like maybe a dialog box that says "CURSE YOUR VERY EXISTENCE? (Y/N)"

When I saw what had happened, I closed Muvizu without saving, hoping that when I opened it back up, my last saved copy would have all my characters and 99% of my work intact. Instead, the project failed to load at all.

Previous messages in the thread indicate that the promised delivery of the fix was sometime last week. So I guess asking for more dates is kind of pointless. The fix will come when it's ready whether I pester or not.

In spite of stuff like this.... I just LOVE this software!!
permalink
20/12/2015 06:52:11

winini33
winini33
Posts: 4
This is a continuation of my previous speech:

It seems that the bug also has a relationship with the head movement of the characters.
Now I can reproduce easily.

Here are the details of my new finding:

I recall the situation:
- It is impossible to open some files with the error "Failed to load object from file"
- It is impossible for me to return to version 2015.09.22.01R because my favorite characters, created with the latest version, are no longer compatible.

Here is how I proceed to reproduce the bug:
- I open two empty windows of Muvizu. One to create a scene, another to check if the file is not damaged.
- In the window 1, I add objects, settings, characters, images, music etc. And I record this scene, the first time.
- Then I go to the window 2. I try to open the first file. It opens easily.
- I'm still in the window 1. I add, cameras, dialogs, and I save under a new name.
- Window 2, I open my new file, it is still good.
- Back window 1, I'm moving the eyes and the head of my characters, and I record.
- Window 2, I note that this last file is rotten.
- Window 1, I just removes the movements of the head, and I keep everything else (eyes, moving, etc.).
- Window 2, my file, without movement of the head, opens again (MIRACLE).

On my other scenes, I remembered that the files are damaged after add of the heads movements.
As a previous version of Muvizu has a problem with the movements of the head, I wanted to look in that direction.

Friends developers of Muvizu , maybe I teach you nothing. You may have already corrected that.
But for us, it's good to know such details before we click to save.

Now I see two possible solutions:
1 - I record my scenes without movement of the head, and I create movements at the last moment, just before publishing.
2 - Someone give me a solution to make my favorite characters, compatible with 2015.09.22.01R release. I tried to replace the header in .fav file (in hexdecimal), but I have not succeeded.

That's all for this morning.

I trust you to fix this quickly.
Bravo for Muvizu.


********************************
In french now (i prefer)
********************************
Ceci est la suite de mon intervention précédente :

Il semble que le bug ait aussi un rapport avec le mouvement de la tête des personnages.
Maintenant j'arrive à le reproduire facilement.

Voici les détails de mes nouvelles constatations :

Je rappelle la situation :
- Il est impossible d'ouvrir certains fichiers avec l'erreur "Failed to load object from file".
- Il est impossible pour moi de revenir à la version 2015.09.22.01R, parce que mes personnages favoris, créés avec la dernière version, ne sont plus compatibles.

Voici comment je procède pour reproduire le bug :
- J'ouvre deux fenêtres de Muvizu vides. Une pour créer la scène, une autre pour vérifier si le fichier n'est pas endommagé.
- Dans la fenêtre 1, j'ajoute des objets, des décors, des personnages, des images, des musiques etc. Et j'enregistre cette scène, une première fois.
- Ensuite je passe sur la fenêtre 2. J'essaye d'ouvrir ce premier fichier. Il s'ouvre sans problème.
- Je continue dans la fenêtre 1. J'ajoute, des caméras, des déplacements des dialogues, et je sauve sous un nouveau nom.
- Fenêtre 2, j'ouvre mon nouveau fichier, il est encore bon.
- Retour fenêtre 1, Je fais bouger les yeux et la tête de mes personnages, et j'enregistre.
- Fenêtre 2, je constate que ce dernier fichier est pourri.
- Fenêtre 1, je supprime juste les mouvements de la tête, et je garde tout le reste (yeux, déplacement, etc).
- Fenêtre 2, mon fichier, sans les mouvement de la tête, s'ouvre à nouveau (MIRACLE).

Sur mes autres scènes, je me suis rappelé que les fichiers se sont endommagés après avoir ajoutés les mouvements des têtes.
Comme une version précédente de Muvizu avait un problème avec les mouvements de la tête, j'ai voulu chercher dans cette direction.

Amis développeurs de Muvizu, je ne vous apprends peut-être rien. Vous avez peut-être déjà corrigé cela.
Mais c'est bien de connaitre ce genre de détail avant de cliquer sur enregistrer.

Maintenant, j'ai deux solutions possibles :
1 - J'enregistre mes scènes sans mouvement de la tête, et je crée des mouvements au dernier moment, juste avant de publier.
2 - On me donne une solution pour rendre mes personnages favoris, compatibles avec la version 2015.09.22.01R. J'ai déjà essayé de remplacer l'entête des fichiers .fav (en hexdécimal), mais j'ai pas réussi.

C'est tout pour ce matin.

Je vous fais confiance pour réparer cela rapidement.
Bravo pour Muvizu.
permalink
20/12/2015 09:23:35

winini33
winini33
Posts: 4
Small further clarification:

The .set file deteriorates with action "head movement" on characters.
It is systematic, if you move the head, and move a little parts on the timline, and save after this.
With a timeline not modifided (the line named "head"), I have no problem.

I have not tested all the characters, but this is more precise.

To be continued...
edited by winini33 on 20/12/2015
permalink
20/12/2015 09:27:14

MrDrWho13Muvizu mogulExperimental user
MrDrWho13
Posts: 2221
Wow this is some in depth research. I'll have to test your theory out.
With this level of detail you could probably get yourself one of these shiny tester badges.
<--
permalink
20/12/2015 10:10:54

ritsmer
ritsmer
Posts: 110
With an error of this magnitude an official statement would be appropriate.

Note: The version, that innocent new and old users users download from the Muvizu Home page is still the faulty 1.6 - and without any warning that as soon as they start using Muvizu seriously they simply get totally stalled.
edited by ritsmer on 20/12/2015
permalink
20/12/2015 14:49:32

ziggy72Muvizu mogulExperimental user
ziggy72
Posts: 1988
Further to this, has anyone noticed their characters not animating their eye movements when being rendered out? This is happening to me in a v1.5 set, and I'm wondering if that glitch (which is part of the head movement system) has maybe had a knock on effect in v1.6? Removing and redoing the eye movements has no effect, btw.
permalink
20/12/2015 18:57:06

PatMarrNCMuvizu mogul
PatMarrNC
Posts: 1742
winini33 wrote:
Small further clarification:

The .set file deteriorates with action "head movement" on characters.
It is systematic, if you move the head, and move a little parts on the timline, and save after this.
With a timeline not modifided (the line named "head"), I have no problem.

I have not tested all the characters, but this is more precise.



yes, now that I look back over my work flow just before I got the error, I do recall that I was working on head movements, and tweaking the timeline was the last thing I did before the project stopped opening.

I guess one workaround would be to save head movements for last, and have a good copy saved before starting to work on them. Also, don't tweak the timeline on any head moves! I figure if I have a project just about done except for head moves, in one sitting I may be able to wrap it up and create the video... that way I won't get caught dead in the water ten minutes away from being finished
permalink
pages: 1 2 3 4 5 | Please log in or register, then complete your details to create a post.

Home ? Tech Help ? Failed to load object from file