Messages in this topic - RSS

Home ? How Do I ...? ? Download the beta assets?

Please log in or register, then complete your details to create a post.
01/01/2015 00:42:42

TheBankser
TheBankser
Posts: 43
I noticed there's a sword you can download and use in Muvizu. But when i try to import it after downloading it, it says that it was not found. But i also noticed that it's for the beta version! So can anyone help me, please?
http://www.muvizu.com/3D/28189/Sword
permalink
01/01/2015 20:41:13

ziggy72Muvizu mogulExperimental user
ziggy72
Posts: 1988
The sword is an object, like any other imported .ASE object. If you have Play+, you can import it into the character's hands, but not in the free version. The beta we were referring to the was the early version of what would become Play+.
permalink
04/01/2015 21:22:36

TheBankser
TheBankser
Posts: 43
Yeah, i have play+ but it says it's not found when i try to import it into the character's hands. That's my problem
permalink
05/01/2015 01:14:56

ziggy72Muvizu mogulExperimental user
ziggy72
Posts: 1988
Tried it, works okay - you are unzipping it before you use it, I presume?
permalink
02/02/2015 11:02:48

TheBankser
TheBankser
Posts: 43
Unzipping it?
permalink
02/02/2015 12:10:30

fazz68
fazz68
(Account inactive)
Posts: 767
TheBankser wrote:
Unzipping it?


extracting the file from the folder. all 3d assets had to be placed in a zipped folder when uploaded. it compresses the file inside and makes the folder smaller in size for easier uploading and to save space on the servers.

when you download a zip file, you have to open it normally. then extract the contents. windows will do this for you.
just an example...


click on extract all files.

windows will then make a new folder for you with the contents inside for you to use.
edited by fazz68 on 02/02/2015
permalink
05/02/2015 19:06:09

TheBankser
TheBankser
Posts: 43
Ahhhh. I didn't know you were supposed to do that! Thanks!
edited by TheBankser on 14/02/2015
permalink
14/02/2015 21:13:34

TheBankser
TheBankser
Posts: 43
It's STILL not working! I unzipped it like you said; it still came up with the same thing. I imported it into the character's hand: FILE NOT FOUND, i imported it as an object: FILE NOT FOUND, I downloaded and unzipped it again and imported it: FILE NOT FOUND!
Help?
permalink
15/02/2015 11:38:21

ziggy72Muvizu mogulExperimental user
ziggy72
Posts: 1988
Create a folder on your C: drive called UT3. Create a bmp file called TOTO and put it in there. When you load up the sword, it's looking for the file "C:\ut3\toto.bmp" and if it ain't there, then you get the file not found type messages. The default texture for all ASE files (as far as I know) is the "C:\ut3\toto.bmp" location, so I've always created that folder to avoid problems down the line. Hope this finally fixes this for you
permalink
25/02/2015 17:23:16

TheBankser
TheBankser
Posts: 43
How do I make the bmp file inside the UT3 folder?
permalink
25/02/2015 20:47:36

ziggy72Muvizu mogulExperimental user
ziggy72
Posts: 1988
Use MS Paint, photoshop, or whatever to make a 512x512 pixel image, any colour you like.
permalink
22/03/2015 15:59:48

TheBankser
TheBankser
Posts: 43
I couldn't put it in the TOTO file, but its in the UT3 folder. But now i have another problem: The sowrd is HUGE in the character's hand, and when i shrink it to the smallest it can go, it's still too big!
edited by TheBankser on 22/03/2015
permalink
22/03/2015 16:07:31

TheBankser
TheBankser
Posts: 43
TheBankser wrote:
Never Mind. I couldn't put it in the TOTO file, but its in the UT3 folder. But now i have another problem: The sowrd is HUGE in the character's hand, and when i shrink it to the smallest it can go, it's still too big!




permalink
22/03/2015 17:14:25

ziggy72Muvizu mogulExperimental user
ziggy72
Posts: 1988
Yup, something has changed inside Muvizu because that used to import at the right size before the update, and now it doesn't (when I tried it in January it was at the correct scale). You should post that picture in the 2015 Update Bugs thread, and hopefully it should get fixed. In the meantime, you could PM Woztoons and ask him (nicely) if he'd recreate the sword at a smaller scale.
permalink
22/03/2015 18:30:07

TheBankser
TheBankser
Posts: 43
OK. But I discovered a strange thing; when you import it in the character's hand, it's that size, but when you import it as an object, it scales down to a proper size. Probably the size it's SUPPOSED to be for the character's hand.
???
edited by TheBankser on 22/03/2015
permalink
22/03/2015 19:45:43

ziggy72Muvizu mogulExperimental user
ziggy72
Posts: 1988
The scaling for imported objects is different for attached objects, always has been, but there's usually not such a big disparity between the two. There are other threads on here regarding the scaling issues, but it usually amounts to the same thing - rescale down the original to make Muvizu happy. I converted the sword.ase file back to a 3DS file, imported it into Sketchup, resized it down, then re-exported it as an ASE again, (had to reassign the textures along the way), and it's now correct. However, since we can't post models any more, you'll have to PM me with an email address and I'll send you the file. Just remember to credit Woztoons, not me
permalink
22/03/2015 21:41:42

TheBankser
TheBankser
Posts: 43
OK. Thanks!
permalink
Please log in or register, then complete your details to create a post.

Home ? How Do I ...? ? Download the beta assets?