Messages in this topic - RSS

Home ? How Do I ...? ? Sketchup into Muvizu????

Please log in or register, then complete your details to create a post.
17/03/2014 23:13:30

SonOfKong
SonOfKong
Posts: 65
Hi, I have a 3D model that I've brought into sketchup and assigned textures to it. (I made the model in 3D Max). After exporting the model as a .ase file I then imported the model into Muvizu. This is were it's going wrong. The textures applied (which are just Sketchup standard textures.(ie using the paint bucket) don't appear on the model, the model appears white..... I did see a tutorial on this but can't find it. I would appreciate being pointed in the right direction with this problem. I expect some one has gone through all of this before!
permalink
17/03/2014 23:36:24

ukBertyMuvizu mogulExperimental user
ukBerty
Posts: 976
This sounds like my territory but I don't know why it's white....
Is there a reason you didn't just export as an ASE from 3DS ? The 3DS export seems to include the textures with it whereas the Sketchup does not and you have to apply them within Muvizu.
If you imported into Sketchup to do stuff then save as an .SKP and import back into 3DS and export as an ASE - this may fix it.
Let me know....
permalink
18/03/2014 00:15:17

urbanlamb
urbanlamb
(Account inactive)
Posts: 1796
I guess there is no 3dsmax pluggin for ase? did you look at the older export pluggins? I would assume that the model was mapped in 3dsmax as well? if its white there is no uvmapping or it can't find the textures. I guess i dont know why you are using sketchup at all as if you made the model in max you can map it and export it directly to muvizu there is no need for sketchup if you have an ase export pluggin for max.
edited by urbanlamb on 18/03/2014
permalink
18/03/2014 00:37:18

primaveranz
primaveranz
Posts: 524
SonOfKong wrote:
Hi, I have a 3D model that I've brought into sketchup and assigned textures to it. (I made the model in 3D Max). After exporting the model as a .ase file I then imported the model into Muvizu. This is were it's going wrong. The textures applied (which are just Sketchup standard textures.(ie using the paint bucket) don't appear on the model, the model appears white


Check what Fazz said in this thread. Sketchup colours are not really "textures", you need to make sure you have saved them as textures.
http://muvizu.com/forum/topic1452-importing-assets.aspx?p=f#post18730
edited by primaveranz on 18/03/2014
permalink
18/03/2014 01:48:50

fazz68
fazz68
(Account inactive)
Posts: 767
primaveranz wrote:
SonOfKong wrote:
Hi, I have a 3D model that I've brought into sketchup and assigned textures to it. (I made the model in 3D Max). After exporting the model as a .ase file I then imported the model into Muvizu. This is were it's going wrong. The textures applied (which are just Sketchup standard textures.(ie using the paint bucket) don't appear on the model, the model appears white


Check what Fazz said in this thread. Sketchup colours are not really "textures", you need to make sure you have saved them as textures.
http://muvizu.com/forum/topic1452-importing-assets.aspx?p=f#post18730
edited by primaveranz on 18/03/2014


yep. the muvizu exporter doesnt recognize the colours in sketchup, so you can paint your model with the entire palette and it will only show one colour when you import into muvizu unless you've made them into textures. the older exporter and the ziggymesh one will. and the bonus of using the ziggymesh one is virtually no collision on your models
http://www.rodneyandberty.co.uk/downloads/
permalink
18/03/2014 12:51:13

SonOfKong
SonOfKong
Posts: 65
Thanks for all the replies. The reason I'm using Sketchup is because it's recommended for models for Muvizu. I have an old copy of 3D max
(v7) unfortunately does'nt run smoothly in windows 8. Personally I use Milkshape 3D for many of my models as I'm familiar with this software.
Many years ago I was into Half-Life editing so used this. The latest version has an .ase exporter that has'nt let me down, as long as I've got the textures done the right way it's fine. Milkshape is excellent for low poly models and is good for applying your own textures. My 3D software of choice would be 3D Max as it's an all round piece of kit. The problem for me is understanding UV mapping and adding textures. Judging by what has been said concerning Sketchup I may un-install it and continue to use Max and Milkshape as at least I can get models into Muvizu without mishap.
permalink
18/03/2014 18:08:40

primaveranz
primaveranz
Posts: 524
SketchUp does have some advantages w.r.t. speed of construction but, like you I am a fan of Milkshape, especially since I could never afford 3D Max and I can't be bothered learning Blender again until it reworks its arcane GUI .
permalink
18/03/2014 22:58:36

urbanlamb
urbanlamb
(Account inactive)
Posts: 1796
SonOfKong wrote:
Thanks for all the replies. The reason I'm using Sketchup is because it's recommended for models for Muvizu. I have an old copy of 3D max
(v7) unfortunately does'nt run smoothly in windows 8. Personally I use Milkshape 3D for many of my models as I'm familiar with this software.
Many years ago I was into Half-Life editing so used this. The latest version has an .ase exporter that has'nt let me down, as long as I've got the textures done the right way it's fine. Milkshape is excellent for low poly models and is good for applying your own textures. My 3D software of choice would be 3D Max as it's an all round piece of kit. The problem for me is understanding UV mapping and adding textures. Judging by what has been said concerning Sketchup I may un-install it and continue to use Max and Milkshape as at least I can get models into Muvizu without mishap.


It seems to me the sketchup is a redundant step if your making the object inside somethign else which has an ase exporter in it already if muvizu recognizes it.

If you know how to add collision I would think whatever your using you can skip the skethcup because its super easy to add collision just give the object mesh a name and then make a cube small somewhere in the area of your model (the center works best if your not used to it) then UCX_NAME the name of the object mesh is the "name" and then export it but dont group them just the collision cube is loose ungrouped. The mesh is one solid piece not pieces grouped. Triangulate everything first.


its very easy to prepare an object for muvizu if you already know how to make things have mapped them and whatnot. It doesnt matter the software really as long as whatever your using has an ase export file format muvizu recognizes
permalink
19/03/2014 06:12:05

ukBertyMuvizu mogulExperimental user
ukBerty
Posts: 976
The Sketchup exporter I amended to automatically add ZiggyMesh means that all Sketchup ASE files end up being usable as the collision is so small but I have a simple script to reduce collision down to a manageable size on models produced from other modelling applications.

I have automated this by doing the following :-

Create a text file : c:\windows\addmesh.bat (depending on you OS you may need to edit as administrator)
Put the following lines in it :-

for %%c in (.\*.ase) DO copy "%%c" nocollision
for %%d in (.\nocollision\*.ase) DO type "c:\ut3\ZiggyMesh.ase" >> "%%d"

Download the ZiggyMesh.ase from here - http://www.muvizu.com/3D/19330/Ziggys-Match-Box-Collision-Remover
Rename the ZMB(collision model).ase to ZiggyMesh.ase and stick it in c:\ut3

Every folder that I have models in I create a folder underneath it called NoCollision
I then start a DOS prompt and change directory to the folder with my models in.
As I add models or edit and export them again I just keep running AddMesh from my DOS window (Up arrow to repeat last command).
This ensures that all my .ase files in the nocollision folder are up to date and have the collision removed. I then use these to import into Muvizu.

This system has probably saved me days of time editing collision boxes and is the reason I rarely use FBX models - I can't get rid of collision as fast using FBX as I can with ASE.


Hope someone finds this as useful as I do.
edited by ukBerty on 19/03/2014
permalink
Please log in or register, then complete your details to create a post.

Home ? How Do I ...? ? Sketchup into Muvizu????