Messages in this topic - RSS

Home ? Competitions, Events & News ? Tiny SOFTWARE UPDATE: Set Compatibility

pages: 1 2 | Please log in or register, then complete your details to create a post.
31/07/2013 18:04:31

CaroleMuvizu staff
Carole
Posts: 67
Hi All,
I've just been told by the technical whizzes over the other side of the office from me that next time you start up Muvizu you’ll be presented with a small download.
It’s just a patch which just fixes a few compatibility issues with some sets saved in older versions of the software.
Happy animating
Carole
permalink
31/07/2013 18:29:43

ukBertyMuvizu mogulExperimental user
ukBerty
Posts: 976
Just a tip on the patch - it downloads a separate .exe that doesn't know the version it was called from - make sure you change the location of the install to the 13th July version of 1.1 otherwise it will patch the default c:\prog files\Muvizu Play install.

I only mention this as I know lots of users keep multiple copies of Muvizu on their PCs (I know I do !)

Also make sure you kill off all those pesky Muvizu.exe files from task manager.
permalink
31/07/2013 22:58:22

ziggy72Muvizu mogulExperimental user
ziggy72
Posts: 1988
Well, it fixed the compatibility issue I had, so thanks! Big Grin
permalink
01/08/2013 09:25:21

Mike_Num_5
Mike_Num_5
Posts: 165
ziggy72 wrote:
Well, it fixed the compatibility issue I had, so thanks! Big Grin



Glad to hear it Ziggy!

Now go make some videos! Mad

Jokes! Just go have fun with all your sets again Big Grin
permalink
01/08/2013 10:19:48

glasgowjim
glasgowjim
Posts: 698
It is possible to create a small .bat file which kills all of the Muvizu.exe processes that can hog system resources by not closing properly - which can also stop the patch working correctly - I will add that info to the troubleshooting section of the Wiki if you want.
edited by glasgowjim on 01/08/2013
permalink
01/08/2013 19:28:59

ziggy72Muvizu mogulExperimental user
ziggy72
Posts: 1988
Mike_Num_5 wrote:
ziggy72 wrote:
Well, it fixed the compatibility issue I had, so thanks! Big Grin



Glad to hear it Ziggy!

Now go make some videos! Mad

Jokes! Just go have fun with all your sets again Big Grin


I'm going as fast as I can, but I have to waste 9 hours a day at work which severely impedes on my animating time. We get all these old buggers coming into the shop complaining about being retired and having nothing to do - I'd kill to be retired right now. No, seriously, I would - just give me a name...
permalink
01/08/2013 19:34:37

ziggy72Muvizu mogulExperimental user
ziggy72
Posts: 1988
glasgowjim wrote:
It is possible to create a small .bat file which kills all of the Muvizu.exe processes that can hog system resources by not closing properly - which can also stop the patch working correctly - I will add that info to the troubleshooting section of the Wiki if you want.
edited by glasgowjim on 01/08/2013


Uh...think you meant to post this over here...

http://www.muvizu.com/Forum/topic2939-updated-and-now-my-videos-will-not-load-up.aspx?p=f#post17881

...did you not? I've never had the multiple running process problem myself, but thanks for letting me know all the same Big Grin
permalink
02/08/2013 08:32:15

Mike_Num_5
Mike_Num_5
Posts: 165
ziggy72 wrote:
just give me a name...


Hmm, this makes things interesting....


Gun puppy dog eyes
permalink
02/08/2013 10:28:45

MrDrWho13Muvizu mogulExperimental user
MrDrWho13
Posts: 2221
ziggy72 wrote:
just give me a name...



Muvizu Bugs....
permalink
02/08/2013 19:34:14

urbanlamb
urbanlamb
(Account inactive)
Posts: 1796
i'm afraid to try because i had no crashes before so since i am unlucky that probably means that its unfixed for me

Anyhow hoping to start making sets next weekend or so and really want to move to the muvizu play because the time synch issues are greatly improved not to mention I can pan a camera without that stuttering/gerkiness I hope well its more the field of view that was really jerky for me so I will try that next video and see if its fixed :0

I am a bit burnt on video making and seem to just want to play with modelling and fish out models from the ryzom game engine so I will do that for now. More trees for fazz are coming
permalink
02/08/2013 21:29:14

fazz68
fazz68
(Account inactive)
Posts: 767
@urban Mmmmm trees i like trees. ive only just discovered your maple tree in the assets. dunno how that got past me? Big Grin
permalink
02/08/2013 22:09:15

urbanlamb
urbanlamb
(Account inactive)
Posts: 1796
hehe nothing like a nice shrubbery to decorate the set! yeah i tried a couple of different methods to make trees at the start as I wasn't quite sure which was good for muvizu the maple tree was the method i settled on and was the first shrubbery that I found decent enough I think outside the christmas trees. I have made tons of trees now mostly they are stuffed in sets though. Some of them are created from photos of my house plants but hey you know this is muvizu land

anyhow i do have some more to upload I just have to get round to muvizuizing them I was working on something else that well I have to change the way I wanted to put it into muvizu so I probably will take a shrubbery break tonight
permalink
03/08/2013 23:07:07

ukBertyMuvizu mogulExperimental user
ukBerty
Posts: 976
I can now load all sets - fantastic news.

Timeline is great. I have no suggestions on how to make it better. Job done in my opinion.

Thanks for getting rid of the camera window dimming when adjusting the colour of lights (and other things I believe).

Object too small message is no more. In a way I'll miss the little bugger.

I have been meaning to report a small bug regarding camera selection. If you have two cameras and load a set where camera 2 is active the red dot will still be on camera 1. Moving the timeline around doesn't fix it, but as soon as you press play the dot jumps to the correct camera. No biggy but it's been like this for a while and if you're tidying things up.....

Now for some suggestions / enhancements......

Can Muvizu please save the location of my windows. I use multiple monitors and always have to set my working environment up again, both each time I start Muvizu and when I load a new set. It's mainly the position and size of the timeline window and the position and size of the camera windows.

Does the timeline window have to keep closing all the time. If you edit the properties of an object, character or light, why does the timeline close - I can't really see the logic here. I would like the camera and timeline windows to stay open all the time. When you animate movement or actions the timeline changes down to a single line, I guess that's fair enough, but could it then go back to the full timeline rather than closing.

Lastly, could I restart my campaign for more actions for the original characters please. We haven't had any new ones for 18 months now (OK - I think there was one or two made for specific projects) but it would be great to have a load more miscellaneous ones. Stuff like pointing back over the shoulder, beckoning, tutting, that sort of thing. Also more conversation actions in each mood - I use these all the time and am at risk of things looking a bit samey. Now that Muvizu Play has settled down I expect you'll be looking for things to do !


Keep up the good work.
permalink
04/08/2013 00:32:55

urbanlamb
urbanlamb
(Account inactive)
Posts: 1796
well i started to mess with the update and thanks for fixing the group/ungroup thing on the menu. Also I was working with collision and had trouble being able to use cylindars for quite awhile for collision and this seems to be fixed so i am no longer limited to cubes thanks!
permalink
04/08/2013 10:24:40

MrDrWho13Muvizu mogulExperimental user
MrDrWho13
Posts: 2221
ukBerty wrote:
I can now load all sets - fantastic news.

Timeline is great. I have no suggestions on how to make it better. Job done in my opinion.

Thanks for getting rid of the camera window dimming when adjusting the colour of lights (and other things I believe).

Object too small message is no more. In a way I'll miss the little bugger.

I have been meaning to report a small bug regarding camera selection. If you have two cameras and load a set where camera 2 is active the red dot will still be on camera 1. Moving the timeline around doesn't fix it, but as soon as you press play the dot jumps to the correct camera. No biggy but it's been like this for a while and if you're tidying things up.....

Now for some suggestions / enhancements......

Can Muvizu please save the location of my windows. I use multiple monitors and always have to set my working environment up again, both each time I start Muvizu and when I load a new set. It's mainly the position and size of the timeline window and the position and size of the camera windows.

Does the timeline window have to keep closing all the time. If you edit the properties of an object, character or light, why does the timeline close - I can't really see the logic here. I would like the camera and timeline windows to stay open all the time. When you animate movement or actions the timeline changes down to a single line, I guess that's fair enough, but could it then go back to the full timeline rather than closing.

Lastly, could I restart my campaign for more actions for the original characters please. We haven't had any new ones for 18 months now (OK - I think there was one or two made for specific projects) but it would be great to have a load more miscellaneous ones. Stuff like pointing back over the shoulder, beckoning, tutting, that sort of thing. Also more conversation actions in each mood - I use these all the time and am at risk of things looking a bit samey. Now that Muvizu Play has settled down I expect you'll be looking for things to do !


Keep up the good work.


I have to agree with everything berty has said here, many times during making my next doctor who video have I got annoyed with the timeline vanishing.

Also, after years of using Muvizu, I recognise all of the actions. Maybe we could have more subtle action and maybe more 'fighting' options like the superheroes.
permalink
07/08/2013 09:11:41

ukBertyMuvizu mogulExperimental user
ukBerty
Posts: 976
There is still a lurking little issue that I saw someone else post.

Sometimes the pink effects cubes can show in the cameras and make video window.

To get rid of them you have to close Muvizu and re-open.
permalink
07/08/2013 09:18:36

Mike_Num_5
Mike_Num_5
Posts: 165
ukBerty wrote:
There is still a lurking little issue that I saw someone else post.

Sometimes the pink effects cubes can show in the cameras and make video window.

To get rid of them you have to close Muvizu and re-open.


Hmm, interesting one ukBerty, could you possibly send us a screenshot or video of the issue please?

-Mike.
permalink
07/08/2013 09:50:33

MrDrWho13Muvizu mogulExperimental user
MrDrWho13
Posts: 2221
I noticed this as well...
I must write these things down so I remember.
permalink
07/08/2013 21:02:43

ukBertyMuvizu mogulExperimental user
ukBerty
Posts: 976
I've had a little play and here's an example.....



It's easy to recreate - Just create an effect and animate the movement. Once animated it will appear in the camera window/make video window until you exit Muvizu. Does the same if you animate properties.

Just reloading the set also fixes it
edited by ukBerty on 08/08/2013
permalink
07/08/2013 21:23:31

MrDrWho13Muvizu mogulExperimental user
MrDrWho13
Posts: 2221
Oh, I thought it was just in the camera window, I didn't realize it came out in the final render,
permalink
pages: 1 2 | Please log in or register, then complete your details to create a post.

Home ? Competitions, Events & News ? Tiny SOFTWARE UPDATE: Set Compatibility