Messages in this topic - RSS

Home ? Importing Assets ? importing film to backdrop problems

the topic is closed
02/07/2013 15:08:30

prole
prole
Posts: 4
hi everyone i have never posted on any forum before as im usually content to wade thru tutorials and others posts when i encounter a problem.I have read all the previous posts in the relevant topics and watched every muvizu tutorial i could find concerning the best codecs and which programs to use to export the avi files into muvizu but im having no luck and its really getting me down.i have used virtual dub with the Xvid codec and also converted to MJPEG as some others recomended but im still getting an out of memory message even with really small file sizes.The videos Ive tried to import ive kept to under 5 seconds with file sizes down to 1 mb.Is it my computer not being up to the task,i have nothing else open in the muvizu set or even running in the background on my entire computer.Im making random guesses like importing the smaller backdrops and scaling them down before trying to import the film,to no avail.Could someone please help me with some patient and definitive advice considering i have actually already tried everything that has been posted on these forums with no luck.Also when i import an asset and download it to my computer which folder should i be placing it in for it to appear then in the list when a go create object.For example if a create my own objects and place them in the folder will they then appear in the list when i create an object.I have just recently started with muvizu and its really inspirational,fun,and creative.love it.One thing of constructive feedback is that the timeline seems glitchy and really limited in functionality i.e basic cut and paste,being able to select more than one action at a time,freedom of movement along the timeline,etc,have developed some work arounds anyway.great program love it
permalink
02/07/2013 16:07:18

MrDrWho13Muvizu mogulExperimental user
MrDrWho13
Posts: 2221
I'm not sure about this one, but you might want to try getting a better graphics card.
permalink
03/07/2013 05:35:26

prole
prole
Posts: 4
would the graphics card have anything to do with the out of memory message?ive since read a couple of other posts elsewhere that have confirmed my suspiscions about the occult nature of codecs,seems theres no real answer apart from trying different variants for different computer specs.Thanx for the reply,what about my other question regarding which folder to place my downloaded/self created 3d objects within muvizu,Its really interesting how much of a control freak i must be because Muvizu having no manual is doing my head in.
permalink
03/07/2013 07:22:51

MrDrWho13Muvizu mogulExperimental user
MrDrWho13
Posts: 2221
Ok, I don't know much about all this memory usage stuff.

To get you own models into Muvizu, you have to export them as .ase files, and it's proably best to watch these tutorials: (tutorial 1: http://www.muvizu.com/Video/12838/Importing-from-Sketchup-Part-1 Tutorial 2: http://www.muvizu.com/Video/12851/Importing-from-Sketchup-Part-2-Basic-Collisio Tutorial 3: http://www.muvizu.com/Video/12935/Importing-from-Sketchup-Part-3-Complex-Collis )
permalink
03/07/2013 10:11:07

Lev_Dynamite
Lev_Dynamite
Posts: 157
prole wrote:
Is it my computer not being up to the task
We'll need a little info on it to be able to answer this question! Info on your operating system, processor, graphics card and available hard drive space would be handy for helping us figure out if the problem is hardware-related, or you can check out http://www.muvizu.com/System-requirements and see for yourself how your PC measures up!
permalink
03/07/2013 15:15:15

prole
prole
Posts: 4
thanks for the replies.Im using a Pentium Dualcore CPU at only 2.30Ghz so thats probably what i should have checked from the first install but i didnt since everything was working fine.Graphics card supports pixel and vertex shader 4.0,honestly dont even know what that is,40gb hardrive free space,Windows7 32bit,2gb of RAM.Maybe Im missing something in the suggested tutorials so im off to watch them again but do they tell you specifically which folder within Muvizu to keep the objects in or do you create one and where should it be put along with the Muvizu files.Thanks for the help
permalink
03/07/2013 15:51:53

MrDrWho13Muvizu mogulExperimental user
MrDrWho13
Posts: 2221
To import your own objects, they can be kept anywhere (in any folder on your pc) and you have to go to Create-->Objects-->Import and select where you put your object.
permalink
03/07/2013 16:16:44

Lev_Dynamite
Lev_Dynamite
Posts: 157
As you noted, your 2.30GHz processor is just shy of the 2.40GHz requirement, so I'd confidently point a finger at that being the source of any issues you may be have trying to get Muvizu:Play to behave.
permalink
03/07/2013 16:33:06

prole
prole
Posts: 4
Thanks for the replies,watched tutorials again and realized that my objects are accessed always through the import button and cant be placed with objects that appear in subfoldersi.efurniture,skies or whatever.Would be cool to be able to load own folders of relevant object headings though.
permalink
23/07/2013 20:06:01

urbanlamb
urbanlamb
(Account inactive)
Posts: 1796
objects you import from your pc you can choose them and set them as 'favourite' then after that they are in your muvizu database and then you can recreate the object by choosing create object and then look for the favourites window and there is a list however your pc is probably already working very hard so the more info loaded into that favourite the harder it works. You might just want to use the method your using now and save them outside of muvizu .
permalink
the topic is closed

Home ? Importing Assets ? importing film to backdrop problems