Messages in this topic - RSS

Home ? How Do I ...? ? Muvizu Play, dialog and timeline

the topic is closed
03/05/2013 22:38:28

wdeprospo
wdeprospo
Posts: 86
Hi,

I've been using Muvizu Play this week, and I am having a good deal of trouble with dialog and the timeline.
If I move around on the timeline using the mouse, to adjust dialog start/stop, the timeline does not seem
to re-sink with the dialog audio. Does anyone else have this problem?

William
permalink
04/05/2013 06:36:22

ukBertyMuvizu mogulExperimental user
ukBerty
Posts: 976
wdeprospo wrote:
Does anyone else have this problem?



William - do you think you're falling foul of this issue......


"We still have the issue of the sound sync. If you have a section of the timeline selected as your shot and you play from the start of section marker then the sound is in sync - i.e. how it will be when you render. If you play from the middle of the section then it will be out by some distance. This slows production down as for each pass (dialog/head/action/eyes) you need to start recording from the beginning to make sure what you are hearing is in the same place as it will be when you render. This is also true when you are just playing the section to adjust things. Over time this means many hours are wasted."
permalink
04/05/2013 10:25:23

wdeprospo
wdeprospo
Posts: 86
Hi,

I don't have a section marked out, so I have a total timeline problem. This scene, 'unfortunately' is 5 minutes of dialog between 5 characters. I will mark sections to limit my sync time. As long as I know this is still a problem, I can work around it. Thanks for steering me in the right direction.

William
permalink
04/05/2013 12:54:10

ziggy72Muvizu mogulExperimental user
ziggy72
Posts: 1988
My workaround for this issue is to play the scene (which will be out of sync), stop it, jump back to a previous cue point (keyboard shortcut 'Home'), then play (which will now usually return to sync). This does mean shuffling your cue points around to just before your working area, and it's not 100% successful, but it helps

Oh, just thought, this is how I do it in 23b, don't know if it'll still work in Play. Please let us know if it does.
permalink
04/05/2013 13:43:12

wdeprospo
wdeprospo
Posts: 86
Hi,

OK, I'll give it a try for a few days and see how it goes. I'll let you know.

Thanks

William
permalink
04/05/2013 17:57:42

wdeprospo
wdeprospo
Posts: 86
Hello,

I've been playing with dialog and the timeline all day. I must say, a real bear. It's better with cue points and re-syncing, but I have lots of dialog to sync. 5 characters. Much better in the old version.

Lots of time and effort.

William

Not part of this thread but.....

As an aside. In the older version, when I edited audio (prepare) and emptied, then imported again it retained the starting position and character sync. It also showed the percent of audio. The audio edit dialog from the timeline is much better than the import audio dialog.

Also, is it possible to right mouse menu (add character to timeline) or right mouse menu (remove character from timeline). The time line is much better than the first version, but when you have many many characters, and wish to match one character's actions/dialog to another character's actions/dialog, scrolling up and down can become tedious. I see the timeline filters, but they really do not remove full featured characters from view.

When I do an object search for patio, as in patio doors, it does not find it?

Or am I missing something or somethings. Which, by the way, would not be rare in my case.

William
permalink
04/05/2013 18:29:54

urbanlamb
urbanlamb
(Account inactive)
Posts: 1796
I know they are going to fix this stuff unfortunately for now its going to be like this. I have a suggestion (something I came up with the other day as I have a series I do in muvizu that must go on .. and I am trying not to move it to another platform while I wait) any animation and sync work you need to do start doing all that in muvizu 23b and then anything of the new portions you need or wanted to add that only exist in muvizu play after doing stuff like dialogue to your satisfaction save the file under a second name and import it into muvizu play and finish what you were doing there. The only thing is you can't go backwards with this method. Its the only solution I could come up with for at least using muvizu play a little bit when scenes get busy and crowded. So lets call this "urbanlambs hairbrained temporary work around" lol.
permalink
04/05/2013 18:56:28

DreekoMuvizu mogulExperimental user
Dreeko
Posts: 1258
wdeprospo wrote:
Hi,

I've been using Muvizu Play this week, and I am having a good deal of trouble with dialog and the timeline.
If I move around on the timeline using the mouse, to adjust dialog start/stop, the timeline does not seem
to re-sink with the dialog audio. Does anyone else have this problem?

William



if you separate the dialogue for each character into separate mp3's then you could load them in and assign then to the individuals required setting the dialogue to talk for each.

This would remove the need for talk/shush direction and therefore the problems with syncing too!

Hope this helps

Cheers
D
permalink
04/05/2013 18:59:37

wdeprospo
wdeprospo
Posts: 86
HI,

Using 23B will work, and I probably will use it.

I do have the dialog split by character. How do I load each for a character. Is this a special effect?

William
permalink
04/05/2013 21:00:58

fazz68
fazz68
(Account inactive)
Posts: 767
you can have more than one audio track loaded. not sure how many but ive had it up to at least seven. with vocal and sound effect tracks
permalink
04/05/2013 21:24:20

wdeprospo
wdeprospo
Posts: 86
Hi,

I always thought one audio track, period. Live and learn. I`ll give a try. If each piece of dialog was loaded as an effect, like music, is there a limit?

William
permalink
04/05/2013 21:38:09

fazz68
fazz68
(Account inactive)
Posts: 767
you only get one sound effects track ,not sure why, multiple sound effect tracks would be awesome. but audio tracks you can have loads, like i said not sure how many but more than enough for your five characters

if you load your vocal soundtrack as an effect you wont be able to lip sync it.

and you can stick single sound effects into an audio track
edited by fazz68 on 04/05/2013
edited by fazz68 on 04/05/2013
permalink
04/05/2013 21:58:56

MrDrWho13Muvizu mogulExperimental user
MrDrWho13
Posts: 2221
fazz68 wrote:
you only get one sound effects track ,not sure why, multiple sound effect tracks would be awesome.

Yeah! What He Said
permalink
04/05/2013 22:23:43

DreekoMuvizu mogulExperimental user
Dreeko
Posts: 1258
wdeprospo wrote:
HI,

Using 23B will work, and I probably will use it.

I do have the dialog split by character. How do I load each for a character. Is this a special effect?

William



Just load each track as you did the first and prepare dialogue for each one for the character of your choice.
permalink
04/05/2013 23:02:03

wdeprospo
wdeprospo
Posts: 86
hi

Thanks to all.

I will be trying everything tomorrow.

William
permalink
the topic is closed

Home ? How Do I ...? ? Muvizu Play, dialog and timeline