Messages in this topic - RSS

Home ? Feedback ? Muvizu Performance

the topic is closed
15/12/2012 22:12:54

ukBertyMuvizu mogulExperimental user
ukBerty
Posts: 976
For a while I have suspected there is a degradation in performance with Muvizu over time. Every time there is a new release I think "Blimey, they've sped up the loading time of sets" only to find that this improvement seems to disappear a week or so later.

I have done some tests and can confirm this to be the case.

I have a largish set file (70MB) which I was beginning to despair with as it takes just over 4 minutes to load. This is a real problem as I save all the shots I make a different set file - if I want to go back to a previous shot to tinker with it then it will take 4 mins to load.

I have re-installed the same version (0.23b) into a new directory and opened the set. It took 1 min 10 secs.

I notice that there are some cache files under the Muvizu folder so maybe these are not clearing out efficiently.

I have created a new, virgin install now and copied it away. I will wipe my live Muvizu program directory every few days and pop this saved version back in to maintain the speed.

Thought you may wish to look into it.
permalink
15/12/2012 22:29:42

urbanlamb
urbanlamb
(Account inactive)
Posts: 1796
I had horrible load times for awhile (its still pretty long but improved) I downloaded a microsoft patch and it cleared up I wish I knew which patch fixed some of this but I didnt take note. (i had several wierd issues crop up so I downloaded some patches all with crashing drivers and wierd registry issues) I still have long load times but I kind of assumed it was how muvizu was built (not seen it have quick load times ever sooo..) anyhow my load times are not 5 minutes anymore and I figure with what i put in my sets its probably reasonable (about 1 minute or so..) I dont really know how muvizu loads objects.
permalink
16/12/2012 21:48:56

ziggy72Muvizu mogulExperimental user
ziggy72
Posts: 1988
My Sammamish main set is now 166 mb, and it takes about 7 or 8 minutes to load each time. It has umpteen numbers of imported objects, dozens of animated characters, and the set takes up the entire skydome. I kind of expect it to take a long time to load, but what I wasn't expecting was Muvizu to not respond to mouse inputs when animating - not sure if it's the polling rate on the USB for the mouse, or the processor core being maxed out and unable to update the inputs fast enough, but I'm really struggling to create the smooth animations I can on simpler sets. The preset animations are fine, just the head/eye movements it seems. Any thoughts?
permalink
16/12/2012 23:33:09

DreekoMuvizu mogulExperimental user
Dreeko
Posts: 1258
Instant thought is to break down the set into smaller sets based on what the camera will actually show the viewer, by opening up the huge set and deleting all but the necessary elements for your shot and repeating for the different camera angles.

You have probably thought of this yourself mind you...
permalink
17/12/2012 00:26:30

mystoMuvizu mogulExperimental user
mysto
Posts: 471
Dreeko wrote:
Instant thought is to break down the set into smaller sets based on what the camera will actually show the viewer, by opening up the huge set and deleting all but the necessary elements for your shot and repeating for the different camera angles.

You have probably thought of this yourself mind you...


That's how I do things.
permalink
17/12/2012 06:42:12

ukBertyMuvizu mogulExperimental user
ukBerty
Posts: 976
I slim down shots if having issues with eyes/heads - but I'm not too sure the effect this has (obviously turning lights off with F12 goes without saying). I plan to do some tests.

I have recently installed a 512GB SSD drive to speed things up. Made no difference at all, hence I started looking into how to get back to the performance when Muvizu is first installed - and having a fresh install makes a dramatic difference - I urge you to try this Ziggy as I think you'll be surprised.

I think the overall performance when actually using Muvizu is pretty much all down to graphics card - I've ruled out RAM and Hard disk performance.
permalink
17/12/2012 20:26:17

ziggy72Muvizu mogulExperimental user
ziggy72
Posts: 1988
I'll give reinstalling a go mate, but I ain't holding my breath
permalink
18/12/2012 06:19:54

ukBertyMuvizu mogulExperimental user
ukBerty
Posts: 976
Ziggy - make sure you install in a new directory - e.g. c:\program files\muvizutest
permalink
the topic is closed

Home ? Feedback ? Muvizu Performance