Messages in this topic - RSS

Home ? Publishing Your Video ? Codecs again

the topic is closed
20/01/2012 03:52:54

DyllyMuvizu mogulExperimental user
Dylly
Posts: 555
Can someone do a little walk through on how to get the ffdshow codec into the 64 bit version of Muvizu...I installed Xvid but prefer the ffdshow. I downloaded and installed the K-Lite codec pack but not of the codecs are showing up in Muvizu.

Thanks in anticipation
Tim
permalink
20/01/2012 06:20:39

tripfreakExperimental user
tripfreak
Posts: 142
Did you install the 64-bit version ?

http://www.codecguide.com/changelogs_64bit.htm
permalink
20/01/2012 11:29:36

DyllyMuvizu mogulExperimental user
Dylly
Posts: 555
Thanks tripfreak...

That got ffdshow loaded into Muvizu....but...

the quality of render on a clip with all codecs is really bad, pixellated and grainy...I must still be doing something wrong. When I upped the quality settings on the ffdshow codec the picture was a total mess!

Tim
permalink
20/01/2012 13:17:37

tripfreakExperimental user
tripfreak
Posts: 142
I wouldn't use them either.
I must admit that I haven't done a video with Muvizu 64-bit because I just switched to 64-bit from Vista 32.

Instead I would use the Lagarith lossless codec and afterwards another codec, e.g. ffdshow 32 bit.
But you have to install an older version (before 3670) of ffdshow, 'cause afterwards they removed the MPEG4 codecs.

Have a look here:
http://www.free-codecs.com/download/ffdshow.htm

The encoders were removed, last version to have them seems to be around rev. 3670. Reasons were outdated, buggy and inferior encoders; you should use standalone encoders (x264vfw or x264 for h264 encodings, standalone XviD for xvids..).
More about the issue at doom9: http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=12046
permalink
21/01/2012 06:52:49

DyllyMuvizu mogulExperimental user
Dylly
Posts: 555
I don't know what I did...but the quality came back....I randomly pressed buttons in the Xvid set up...and Xvid became better... I decided to do the same thing with ffdshow but made a Muvi first so I would have a reference point...but...it was back to normal....hell of a difference between the two codecs...ffdshow is much much clearer with more detail.

Thanks for the help tripfreak!
permalink
21/01/2012 12:54:09

DreekoMuvizu mogulExperimental user
Dreeko
Posts: 1258
I always output frommuvizu in the motion jpeg codec and then after piecing the scenes all together in Vegas I output the final movie as an xvid.
permalink
the topic is closed

Home ? Publishing Your Video ? Codecs again