Messages in this topic - RSS

Home ? Tech Help ? would be great if it got past the splash screen!

the topic is closed
20/12/2011 10:56:17

ohdear
ohdear
Posts: 5
I've been trying to install this for over a year. different versions, different machines, different OS's, nothing works.

latest error on launch is:

address = 0x7245afac (filename not found) [in c:\windows\winsxs\blahblah\msvcr90.dll
address=0x100010956 (filename not found) in c:\program files\muvizu\binaries32\ue3engine.dll
repeated with various hex addresses

all pre-requisites (dotnet etc) are installed, msvcr90.dll is there
I'm not the only one who cant get it running judging by many google searches, bugs are causing widescale irritation - very dissapointing that you go to all the trouble of writing it, and it doesn't install properly, gives a completely useless error message, and as far as I can see, any support is left to users on the forum, which like most internet forums is full of red herrings and stabs in the dark.

If I were the programmer, I'd be sat on this forum every day ironing out bugs, otherwise all that effort has a limited audience.
edited by ohdear on 20/12/2011
edited by ohdear on 20/12/2011
edited by ohdear on 20/12/2011
permalink
20/12/2011 11:08:30

bigwallyMuvizu mogulExperimental user
bigwally
Posts: 400
ohdear wrote:
I've been trying to install this for over a year. different versions, different machines, different OS's, nothing works.

latest error on launch is:

address = 0x7245afac (filename not found) [in c:\windows\winsxs\blahblah\msvcr90.dll
address=0x100010956 (filename not found) in c:\program files\muvizu\binaries32\ue3engine.dll
repeated with various hex addresses

all pre-requisites (dotnet etc) are installed, msvcr90.dll is there
I'm not the only one who cant get it running judging by many google searches, bugs are causing widescale irritation - very dissapointing that you go to all the trouble of writing it, and it doesn't install properly, gives a completely useless error message, and as far as I can see, any support is left to users on the forum, which like most internet forums is full of red herrings and stabs in the dark.

If I were the programmer, I'd be sat on this forum every day ironing out bugs, otherwise all that effort has a limited audience.
edited by ohdear on 20/12/2011
edited by ohdear on 20/12/2011
edited by ohdear on 20/12/2011

Hello to you as well. Sorry you've been having problems, but if you don't say anything (for a year) how you expect any help from, well, anyone? Many users here are quite capable and many of the Muvizu staff are here as well.

You need to let us know your computer specs, including the graphics processor, first of all. Got to know what you're trying to run it on.

Just a thought. Do you have DirectX *9* installed?

BTW - "Stabs in the dark" are usually because of the sparse info that is provided.
edited by bigwally on 20/12/2011
edited by bigwally on 20/12/2011
permalink
20/12/2011 11:19:08

ohdear
ohdear
Posts: 5
Thanks, one example I've tried it on is

ati mobility radeon hd 4570 1GB
core 2 duo 2GHz
2gb ram
vista sp2

muvizu 0.0.0.15
edited by ohdear on 20/12/2011
permalink
20/12/2011 11:21:16

JamieMuvizu staff
Jamie
(Account inactive)
Posts: 609
hi ohdear,

Can you send us your computer specs and the version of Muvizu you are trying to install? You can post it here or email us at bugs@muvizu.com

The easy way to get and send us your system specifications is to use a small part of Direct X. This is called DXDiag, which is a tool that is shipped by Microsoft with DirectX and basically gathers your system configuration and lets you save it as a text file. To use it follow these instructions:

1. Click the start menu.
2. Select Run. (or just use the search field on windows 7)
3. Type dxdiag and hit enter (or click ok).
4. Wait until the processing bar runs to completion.
5. Click the save information button.
6. Attach the file with all the information to an email reply to us.
You can find more information on DXDiag at http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc938991.aspx


Hopefully we can figure out what is happening for you.

--
Direct, don't animate!
permalink
20/12/2011 11:22:59

bigwallyMuvizu mogulExperimental user
bigwally
Posts: 400
Another stab in the dark (sorry, I'm not as well versed, technically, as others here). I found a site that might give us more info. http://pcsupport.about.com/od/findbyerrormessage/a/msvcr90-dll-not-found-missing-error.htm
permalink
20/12/2011 12:28:57

ohdear
ohdear
Posts: 5
Thanks

Specs are in my previous post, I've tried several versions of muvizu, all gave errors on launch.

All prerequisites on the dowload page have been installed


http://www.muvizu.com/Download/

Required Windows components:
  • Direct X 9, June 2010 version or later, available here
  • .NET Framework version 4 or higher, available here
  • C++ Redistrbutable 2008 SP1, available here (32 bit) or (64 bit)


    Whether my graphics card is a "Shader model 3 graphics card (or equivalent APU)", I have no idea, I doubt many people landing on the site do, a list of supported graphics cards would be more informative, but it has no trouble running any game I've thrown at it sofar, and other rendering packages work. Even if it is a graphics card problem, the installer or program should say, "your graphics card isn't supported", rather than just crashing out with spurious messages.

    thanks for your help
    edited by ohdear on 20/12/2011
    permalink
    20/12/2011 15:36:23

    JamieMuvizu staff
    Jamie
    (Account inactive)
    Posts: 609
    ohdear wrote:
    Thanks, one example I've tried it on is

    ati mobility radeon hd 4570 1GB
    core 2 duo 2GHz
    2gb ram
    vista sp2

    muvizu 0.0.0.15



    Thanks for your specifications ohdear, could you be more specific about the processor and the installed components? Core 2 Duo is a family of processors of which there are many individual models.

    The best thing you could do is drop and email to bugs@muvizu.com with your DXDiag output from the computer you are trying to install it on or post that here (if you don't mind showing off your computer spec's publicly).

    In the short term, have you updated your graphics card drivers recently? That's usually a good starting point.

    The file version number on Muvizu.exe that you've listed has not been updated for a few releases (a bug we'll have fixed for the next release) could you run the installer and before clicking "I Agree" take a note of the version from there. The latest release was Muvizu v0.18b (2011.09.20.01R)

    Btw, what other specs of computer have you tried Muvizu on?

    --
    Direct, don't animate!
    permalink
    20/12/2011 16:20:13

    stun48
    stun48
    Posts: 8
    odhear, change Vista ... is a big ****...I've never used, only l'I proved, I hope that will resolve if you change OS...good luck, Dan
    permalink
    20/12/2011 17:13:59

    ohdear
    ohdear
    Posts: 5
    Thanks for the input

    Any processor should be able to launch the initial screen and initialise the program, its not a processor problem, but it's a T2600 with 32 bit Vista for what it's worth. Similarly, the program is supposed to be vista compatible.

    Drivers are upto date. This is a problem with the program or it's dependencies, all of which are installed as part of the package.

    Latest version has been installed today, same result. The version number on the exe's don't match the splash screen, but the bug has been present for months.
    edited by ohdear on 20/12/2011
    permalink
    21/12/2011 11:32:16

    JamieMuvizu staff
    Jamie
    (Account inactive)
    Posts: 609
    ohdear wrote:
    Drivers are upto date. This is a problem with the program or it's dependencies, all of which are installed as part of the package.



    You are right that it is a problem with the dependencies. I don't think there is any reason your computer's hardware wouldn't be able to run Muvizu.

    Could you try this procedure -

    1. Uninstall Muvizu
    2. Go to the location it was installed in (normally c:\program files\muvizu\) and delete the Muvizu folder
    3. Uninstall all of the dependencies as best you can (some of them become integrated into Windows and are tricky to totally remove)
    4. Run CCleaner on your registry to remove anything that isn't in use any more.
    5. Install Muvizu again and make sure you let Muvizu install all 3 dependencies itself.

    Hope this helps.
    edited by Jamie on 21/12/2011

    --
    Direct, don't animate!
    permalink
    21/12/2011 12:00:27

    hexslayer
    hexslayer
    Posts: 37
    without a doubt I would say its the graphics card there !-had a similar problems.
    permalink
    21/12/2011 12:20:19

    JamieMuvizu staff
    Jamie
    (Account inactive)
    Posts: 609
    I looked into that hex, and found a few sources showing that card working with unreal tournament 3 so I think there is a chance it's just a software / dependency issue rather than hardware....



    Also -
    http://www.notebookcheck.net/AMD-ATI-Mobility-Radeon-HD-4570.13885.0.html

    Hopefully I'm not wrong and it can be made to work for ohdear

    --
    Direct, don't animate!
    permalink
    21/12/2011 15:26:15

    hexslayer
    hexslayer
    Posts: 37
    not sure, for me to run muvizu i have to physically remove that ati and put my g force in ,and it loads /runs fine then ,very strange
    permalink
    02/03/2012 18:56:29

    ohdear
    ohdear
    Posts: 5
    3 months on, new version now gives no error as before, shows splash screen, then a black screen wth a white blob, the exe consumes vast amount of ram for a few minutes before windows throws in the towel with a app not responding message. Progress of sorts, but still buggy. If this really is a graphics card related error, the application should just say sorry your graphics card is not supported. Alternatively provide a diagnostic test application that test the requirements
    edited by ohdear on 02/03/2012
    edited by ohdear on 02/03/2012
    permalink
    the topic is closed

    Home ? Tech Help ? would be great if it got past the splash screen!