Messages in this topic - RSS

Home ? Importing Assets ? Sketchup to Muvizu

pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 | Please log in or register, then complete your details to create a post.
27/11/2013 17:42:52

ukBertyMuvizu mogulExperimental user
ukBerty
Posts: 976
I use this one :-

http://www.rodneyandberty.com/downloads

This will reduce the collision on the import and make the whole thing more usable.
permalink
28/11/2013 11:26:13

Tubal
Tubal
Posts: 14
Thanks chaps, working now. I think I was thrown after a long day by the ‘unexpected error…’ message -- which seems to have gone now.

Anyway, just to get it straight in my head I’ve written down the instructions as I understand them in a list… I like lists.

1. Download Google Sketchup here!
2. Right click the following link and select ‘Save link as’ http://www.muvizu.com/download/muvizuaseexporter.rb
3. Move the file downloaded (muvizuaseexporter.rb) to the GoogleSketchUp ‘Plugins’ folder.
4. Make a new folder on your hard drive called ‘UT3’
5. Open Microsoft Paint and create a new file.
6. Resize the initial white box to 256x256 pixels.
7. Use the Fill Tool to colour it pink.
8. Save this file as a 256 color bitmap called 'Toto.bmp' in the newly created folder UT3.
9. Start Google Sketchup and make an object
10. Select the object by Drawing a box round the object with the pointer
11. Click ‘Make Component’ tool, or on the Edit menu ‘Make Component’
12. The ‘Create(sic) Component’ box pops up,
13. Fill in box and click ‘create’
14. Click the ‘plugins’ menu
15. Click ‘Muvizu ASE Exporter’ then ‘Export ASE Format’
16. Click OK
17. Save in UT3 folder
18. In Movizu click Create/Import
19. Select ASE file to import.
I’ve left some stuff out but this is what worked for me.
Thanks to all the people doing the Wiki, It’s the best way to keep the information easily findable and up to date.
permalink
28/11/2013 12:24:55

Tubal
Tubal
Posts: 14
....and having imported a few items I realise the fun has only just begun.
permalink
10/12/2013 13:51:12

northernkin
northernkin
Posts: 3
I sussed out the ambient occlusion by dropping the AO map generated by Max onto the Diffuse map generated by Max and applying that map to the model.
Can you show how you did that?
permalink
10/12/2013 14:13:17

DyllyMuvizu mogulExperimental user
Dylly
Posts: 555
There are two methods I use to add ambient occlusion. Both involve generating an ao map in 3ds Max. After I have rendered out my diffuse map I add a white material to the model and go to the render to texture roll out. Selecting 'complete map' I render out this map.

Now if my model is going to be imported into Muvizu as an .ase model then I leave the ao map as it is and select 'has ambient occlusion' in the import dialogue in Muvizu. If I am going to import the model as an .fbx or the model needs a fairly complex paint job on the diffuse map I import the ao map onto the diffuse map as a separate layer in my graphics program (I have Gimp & Photoshop but prefer Gimp) and change ao layer type to Multiply. I then export out my diffuse map with the ambient occlusion applied to it and import the model into Muvizu.

Hope this helps.
permalink
16/12/2013 22:45:07

DyllyMuvizu mogulExperimental user
Dylly
Posts: 555
This parrot is dead! Getting to grips with low poly barrels for someone this week. Well to be more exact a high poly barrel and a low poly version. For such a simple model it has taken some fiddling with uv unwrapping to get the desired level of detail, not to mention messing with the textures to get the UV's right and lets face it I'm in need of the odd mince pie and whiskey after the ordeal of the ambient occlusion mapping!Still its all part of that great learning curve that is Muvizu! Just got to twiddle with the low poly model and bake the normal map now to finish it all off...this side of Christmas I hope!

permalink
16/12/2013 23:03:41

ziggy72Muvizu mogulExperimental user
ziggy72
Posts: 1988
Dylly, those barrels already look great
permalink
21/04/2014 13:46:11

DyllyMuvizu mogulExperimental user
Dylly
Posts: 555
Been a bit busy of late, but here's a quick heads up on some ongoing work for a client. I've been asked to make some sets and props that will be used to illustrate a children's story book. First set is a bedroom set. The remit is to give the props a 'toon' feel without over much distortion yet with an illustrated feel to them. Here's the work so far, just the bed frame finished, got to work on the mattress and duvet set now...without too many poly's. I have to admit I've enjoyed hand painting the textures for this project and getting the Wacom out of the cupboard.
permalink
21/04/2014 14:46:48

toonaramaMuvizu mogulExperimental user
toonarama
Posts: 661
Dylly
Looks excellent - would be perfect in muvizu!
permalink
21/04/2014 18:20:02

ziggy72Muvizu mogulExperimental user
ziggy72
Posts: 1988
Beautiful, just perfect to match what you described - I'm sure the client will be well chuffed
permalink
22/04/2014 06:52:15

DyllyMuvizu mogulExperimental user
Dylly
Posts: 555
Thanks guys. The modelling is finished now, as well as the basic textures. got it imported into Muvizu just need to work on the normals and specular mapping to cut down on the shine a bit.

permalink
07/07/2014 16:09:33

LugofilmLtd
LugofilmLtd
Posts: 74
Hey, quick question: I wanted to try importing stuff and I just downloaded the latest version of Sketchup, but the tutorial doesn't seem to work for me because there is no plugins folder. There are folders for importers and exporters that have dll files in them, so I tried putting the muvizu ase exporter in the exporters folder. When I open Sketchup, though, there is no plugins menu and the ase format doesn't show up as an option when I click on export. HELP!


EDIT: Nevermind. I found the other thread where you already answered this. I'll download the older version and try again.
edited by LugofilmLtd on 07/07/2014
permalink
04/01/2015 17:14:17

blickfang
blickfang
Posts: 106
Tubal
3. Move the file downloaded (muvizuaseexporter.rb) to the GoogleSketchUp ‘Plugins’ folder.
. [/quote
wrote:


I can't find this folder.
permalink
04/01/2015 20:57:44

MrDrWho13Muvizu mogulExperimental user
MrDrWho13
Posts: 2220
blickfang wrote:
Tubal wrote:

3. Move the file downloaded (muvizuaseexporter.rb) to the GoogleSketchUp ‘Plugins’ folder.
.


I can't find this folder.

Are you using Sketchup 8? Newer versions don't seem to be the same.
edited by MrDrWho13 on 04/01/2015
permalink
04/01/2015 22:47:38

blickfang
blickfang
Posts: 106
nope. sketchup 2015. I am trying to find 8. but it looks futile
permalink
04/01/2015 23:03:38

primaveranz
primaveranz
Posts: 524
You can download the pro version of 8 here http://help.sketchup.com/en/article/60107 and use it for a limited evaluation period.
edited by primaveranz on 04/01/2015
permalink
04/01/2015 23:06:03

MrDrWho13Muvizu mogulExperimental user
MrDrWho13
Posts: 2220
I might have the normal sketchup 8 installer in my downloads if you want me to upload that to dropbox or something.
permalink
05/01/2015 01:01:06

blickfang
blickfang
Posts: 106
Hi

Thanks for posting. The Eval. is......4 hours??? LOL

DrWho13, if you wouldn't mind taking a look.


Thanks!
permalink
05/01/2015 11:31:13

MrDrWho13Muvizu mogulExperimental user
MrDrWho13
Posts: 2220
Hi,


This should be what you're looking for: https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B-_4UVPr59ACNjBQSTNYRjNwQkE/view?usp=sharing
I'd advise creating a windows restore point before installing, just in case.

Hope this helps,
MDW13
permalink
05/01/2015 12:58:51

ziggy72Muvizu mogulExperimental user
ziggy72
Posts: 1988
This is an alternative download - the last updated version of Sketchup 8. It's the one I use anyway.

https://onedrive.live.com/redir?resid=49D7234E5E7C54B9%21107
permalink
pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 | Please log in or register, then complete your details to create a post.

Home ? Importing Assets ? Sketchup to Muvizu